We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Anthony Wilson Trio - Our Gang 180g 45RPM Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

Anthony Wilson Trio - Our Gang 180g 45RPM Vinyl 2LP

Groove Note

  • $ 3998

The Anthony Wilson Trio Our Gang 180g 45RPM Vinyl 2LP

Composer-arranger-bandleader and guitarist Anthony Wilson, the 32-year old son of big band maestroGerald Wilson, is one of the most brilliant musicians working in the US jazz scene today. A recipient ofthe IAJE's Gil Evans Fellowship Award, Wilson's rich, fluid and easy going style, with it's seductivereferences to Wes Montgomery and Kenny Burrell, is much in evidence on his latest CD, Our Gang fromthe Groove Note label out of Los Angeles.

Playing with a much pared down structure of guitar trio with organ and drums (his previous recordingshave been with much larger outfits) gave Wilson the freedom to focus more on his own inventive andincomparable skills as soloist, and his close rapport with drummer Mark Ferber and organist Joe Bagg,with whom he has been playing with regularly for the last 2-3 years, pays off richly in this session.

This CD includes some stunning performances of standards like 'Chitlins Con Carne' (By Kenny Burrell), 'I Want You (She's So Heavy)' (from Abbey Road), and 'Prelude To A Kiss' (Strayhorn). The album alsocontains further evidence of Anthony Wilson's skill and talent as a composer as demonstrated by originalcompositions like 'Our Gang' and 'Britta's Blues.' The sterling back-up by Ferber and Bagg also deservesspecial mention with organist Bagg in particular exchanging great solos on the Hammond B-3 withWilson.

Recorded by the A-list team of producer Joe Harley (ECM, Enja) and Mike Ross (engineer) at CelloStudios in Hollywood, this remarkable session will greatly extend Wilson's high profile position as one jazz'sfinest talents.


• 180g Audiophile Vinyl
• 45rpm Double LP
• Plated and Pressed at RTI
• Cut by Bernie Grundman on all analogue tube cutting
system using all upgraded and modified vintage Sculley cutting lathes
• Mastered direcly from the original 30 ips 1/4 inch analogue master


Anthony Wilson, guitar
Joe Bagg, Hammond B3
Mark Ferber, drums

The Anthony Wilson Trio Our Gang Track Listing:

1. Our Gang
2. Chitlins Con Carne
3. Britta's Blues
4. Time Flies
5. Road Trip
6. Luck be A Lady
7. I Want You (She's So Heavy)
8. Prelude To A Kiss

We Also Recommend