Cart 0
The Band - Islands on 180g LP - direct audio

The Band - Islands on 180g LP

Capital Records

  • $ 2499

The Band Islands on 180g LP

Legendary Canadian-American roots-rock group The Band was a musical institution unlike anything that came before them or since. In the 1960s, they were initially brought together as The Hawks by Ronnie Hawkins and later gained international recognition as Bob Dylan’s backing band on his groundbreaking electric tours.

However, it was the original material Robbie Robertson, Rick Danko, Richard Manuel, Garth Hudson and Levon Helm recorded as The Band such as "The Weight," "The Night They Drove Ol’ Dixie Down," "Up On Cripple Creek," "Life is a Carnival," "The Shape I’m In," "Don't Do It," "It Makes No Difference," "Tears of Rage," "Stage Fright" and "Ophelia" that turned them into the highly respected icons they remain to this day.

Islands is the final full-length album from The Band's original quintet lineup, issued in March 1977 to fulfill their Capitol Records contract so they could release the soundtrack to their concert film The Last Waltz on Warner Bros. Recognized by the group as more of a rarities collection than a full-fledged studio record, Islands does include a few catalog gems like Levon Helm's excellent take on "Ain't That A Lot of Love" and Richard Manuel's emotional performance of "Georgia on My Mind."

The Band Islands Track Listing:

1. Right As Rain
2. Street Walker
3. Let The Night Fall
4. Ain't That A Lot Of Love
5. Christmas Must Be Tonight
6. Islands
7. The Saga Of Pepote Rouge
8. Georgia On My Mind
9. Knockin' Lost John
10. Livin' In A Dream

We Also Recommend