Cart 0
The Beach Boys - Shut Down Volume 2 on Limited Edition 200g Vinyl LP - direct audio

The Beach Boys - Shut Down Volume 2 on Limited Edition 200g Vinyl LP

Analogue Productions

  • $ 3499

The Beach Boys Shut Down Volume 2 on Limited Edition 200g Vinyl LP from Analogue Productions

Don't Worry Baby: Mastered by Kevin Gray, Analogue Productions' Vinyl LP of Beach Boys' Shut Down Volume 2 Is the Best-Sounding Stereo Version of Classic 1964 Album

Having fun, fun, fun with the Beach Boys never sounded so good in stereo. Expertly mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio from the best available sources, pressed and plated at QRP, and presented in an "old style" Stoughton tip-on jacket, this Analogue Productions 200g vinyl LP edition of Shut Down Volume 2 brings the group's trademark surf-rock to vivid life. While renowned for their love of mono, there’s no disputing that the Beach Boys' close harmonies and one-of-a-kind rhythms lend themselves naturally to stereo.

Released in 1964, Shut Down Volume 2 was mixed in stereo by the band's preferred engineer, Chuck Britz, ostensibly under the group's supervision. "Brian may or may not have been present for those mixing sessions - evidence suggests that he trusted Chuck's skills enough to let him prepare those mixes on his own - but the group held onto their multitrack tapes and delivered stereo masters to Capitol, rather than allowing Capitol to prepare their own stereo versions. Later, when Brian was only delivering mono masters, Capitol would prepare the Duophonic pseudo stereo editions for the stereo market," says Alan Boyd, producer and Beach Boys' archivist.

Named in reference to Capitol Records 1963 multi-artist compilation Shut Down, on which they were featured with the title cut and "409," this American classic includes "Fun, Fun, Fun" and "Don't Worry Baby" along with first rate compositions like "Warmth of the Sun" and an excellent take on Frankie Lymon's "Why Do Fools Fall in Love."


• 200g LP
• Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
• Lacquer plating by Gary Salstrom
• Pressed at Quality Record Pressings
• "Old school" Stoughton tip-on jackets
• Audio Production - Mark Linett
• For Brother Records - Elliott Lott

The Beach Boys Shut Down Volume 2 Track Listing:

1. Fun, Fun, Fun
2. Don't Worry Baby
3. In The Parkin' Lot
4. "Cassius" Love Vs "Sonny" Wilson
5. The Warmth Of The Sun
6. This Car Is Mine
7. Why Do Fools Fall In Love
8. Pom, Pom Play Girl
9. Keep An Eye On Summer
10. Shut Down, Part II
11. Louie, Louie
12. Denny's Drums

We Also Recommend