We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
The Beasts - Still Here Vinyl LP (Out Of Stock) - direct audio

The Beasts - Still Here Vinyl LP (Out Of Stock)

Bang! Records

  • $ 3198

The Beasts Still Here Vinyl LP

After an extremely emotional final performance with the Beasts of Bourbon, Tex Perkins hit upon the idea of getting all of the band's members, past and present, into a recording studio with no particular agenda. It was more of a celebratory thing he had in mind than anything else. Sadly, bassist Brian Hooper didn't make it along as he passed away a week after the Beasts last show. Assembled in Soundpark Studio a couple of weeks later were Charlie Owen, Boris Sujdovic, Tony Pola, Spencer Jones, Kim Salmon, and Tex.

They were unprepared save for some sketchy ideas, loose ends, and a couple of covers. With limited time the band knocked together a collection of jams pretty much true to the crazy M.O. employed back when The Axeman's Jazz got laid down in that fateful eight-hour session in 1983.

Songs weren't so much learned as ideas were thrown together and recorded the moment they began to coalesce. Captured were: Brian Hooper's "What The Hell Was I Thinking," James Baker's "Drunk On A Train," Boris' "Don't Pull Me Over," Kim's "Pearls Before Swine," Tex's "On My Back" and "Just Let Go," and Spencer's "At The Hospital." There was also Zappa's "The Torture Never Stops" and Warren Zevon's "My Shit's Fucked Up" (was there ever a more appropriate cover for the Beasts?). Add to that some untitled jams that became the hilarious "Your Honour" and "It's All Lies.'

Sound like an album? You betcha! Deeply sad is that Spencer was only around long enough to make it onto one track. Absolutely wonderful is that he did make it onto the recording. And with such a funny and typically Jones style piece of observation as "At The Hospital." With respect, this isn't the Beasts of Bourbon. It would need to have Jonesy on every track to be that!

The Beasts Still Here Track Listing:

1. On My Back
2. Pearls Before Swine
3. My Shit's Fucked Up
4. Just Let Go
5. At The Hospital
6. Drunk On A Train
7. The Torture Never Stops
8. It's All Lies
9. What The Hell Was I Thinking
10. Don't Pull Me Over
11. Your Honour

We Also Recommend