Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
The Beatles - In the Beginning Vinyl LP - direct audio

The Beatles - In the Beginning Vinyl LP

Wax Cathedral Records

  • $ 2498

The Beatles In the Beginning Vinyl LP

Seminal Early Beatles Recordings as Backing Band for Singer Tony Sheridan

Includes Rare Lennon/Harrison Instrumental “Cry for a Shadow” and Lennon-Led “Ain’t She Sweet”

This is where the legend starts. Serving as the backing musicians for British rock singer Tony Sheridan, the Beatles turned out the most productive studio session of their formative years in June 1961 in Hamburg, a historical occasion documented on the seminal In the Beginning. Billed as the Beat Brothers, the group that evolved into the Fab Four counted original member Pete Best on drums and largely supply Sheridan with rhythmic foundations for traditional cuts such as Ray Charles’ “What’d I Say” and Lieber-Stoller’s “Ruby Baby,” as well as a batch of originals.

Most importantly, the date also produced the rare jazzy instrumental “Cry for a Shadow,” the only Beatles track ever credited to Lennon-Harrison. Another essential gem is “Ain’t She Sweet,” an early 20th century hit covered here with lead vocals by John Lennon. Most importantly, this treasured LP affords music fans from around the world an early glimpse into the instrumental abilities and harmonic sound of a band that would, within two years, become the most important and popular ensemble in history.

Historians and collectors, take note: These performances occurred long before the quartet’s similarly prized artifact Live at the Hamburg Club 1962, making this album the earliest official recording of the Beatles available.

Featuring dead-quiet surfaces, this Wax Cathedral LP is pressed at RTI, America’s best record plant.

The Beatles In the Beginning Track Listing:

1. Ain’t She Sweet
2. Cry for a Shadow
3. Let’s Dance
4. My Bonnie
5. Take Out Some Insurance on Me, Baby
6. What’d I Say
7. Sweet Georgia Brown
8. When the Saints Go Marching In
9. Ruby Baby
10. Why
11. Nobody’s Child
12. Ya Ya, Pts. 1-2

We Also Recommend