We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
The Bevis Frond - We're Your Friends, Man Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

The Bevis Frond - We're Your Friends, Man Vinyl 2LP

Fire Records

  • $ 2898

The Bevis Frond We're Your Friends, Man Vinyl 2LP

Docking alongside the Mothership Frond, with its insignia emblazoned with the legend We're Your Friends, Man, you can hear a smattering of Hendrixonian guitar wafting through the cavernous recess of this vessel. You can hear a Love-like strum, a melancholy verse/chorus; you can hear proper songs with uplifting guitar salvos releasing the pressure on the thinking man's pontifications on growing old, putting things in order and the sense of wonder of how we all got here.

This is The Bevis Frond's umpteenth mission, like Dark Star troopers they know the drill and in epic soundtrack proportions they clock in with just under 90 minutes of grown up angst, a semi-autobiographical romp from the director who has an eye for this; nothing short of a genius auteur. To the point, on the money; it's dramatic, plucking at the heart strings, spilling one liners, milking the past and crafting something completely new.

Every song that the Frond's frontman Nick Saloman writes has the effect of little orchestras tuning up in your head, sketching the scene and filling in the blanks – a feat explained in the cunningly titled "Little Orchestras," no less. And there's more personal realizations on offer for sure – "Growing," "A Hard Way To Learn" and "Young Man's Game" make for a strident midfield in this 20-track squad. But doesn't every Bevis Frond album do that? Sure...

The man writes great songs, he knows his way around a verse and chorus as well as he knows the best route around a guitar, he also has his tongue firmly in his cheek throughout. So, as the closing epic, the 13 minute "You're On Your Own" traces Saloman's drive over the Westway, between passing Galaxies, and our worlds begin to gain distance, while twin guitars spiral like Stills and Young on a 4 Way Street jam, some graffiti comes into view – "Bevis Is God" it proclaims. Move over Eric.

The Bevis Frond We're Your Friends, Man Track Listing:

1. Enjoy
2. We're Your Friends, Man
3. Pheromones
4. Lead On
5. In The Leaves
6. Little Orchestras
7. Growing
8. A Hard Way To Learn
9. Young Man's Game
10. Venom Drain
11. Theft
12. Gig Bag
13. I Was A Bird
14. Old Wives Tales
15. When You Cast Me Out
16. Birds of Prey
17. And Relax...
18. The Steeple Doesn't Reach the Sky
19. Mad Love
20. You're On Your Own

We Also Recommend