Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
The Blue Orchids - The Once and Future Thing Vinyl LP - direct audio

The Blue Orchids - The Once and Future Thing Vinyl LP

Tiny Global

  • $ 2198

The Blue Orchids The Once and Future Thing Vinyl LP

Having reunited three years ago after being asked to play All Tomorrow's Parties by their fans in Deerhunter, Blue Orchids are back with their first full-band album since - believe it or not - their 1982 Rough Trade releaseThe Greatest Hit (Money Mountain). Blue Orchids began in 1980 after three former members of The Fall reunited, including founding guitarist Martin Bramah, as well as their first keyboard player, Una Baines.

A deal with Rough Trade shortly followed, resulting in two 7" singles, a spot on NME's C81 cassette compilation of post-punk luminaries, the aforementioned album, and its follow-up 12" EP, Agents Of Change. Following Una's nervous breakdown and a tumultuous two years spent backing up Nico (of Velvet Underground fame), the band went on hold. Despite later line-ups featuring members of Primal Scream, The Smiths, James and other big names, no follow-up albums were issued in their day. Martin was asked to become lead singer of Inspiral Carpets, passed on that, rejoined The Fall for their biggest-selling album, Extricate, and retired from music for a few years.

The Once And Future Thing is already receiving great advance press, and the band will be touring the UK and Europe this autumn, with an American tripped planned for spring of 2017. The vinyl album comes with a download card featuring an extra track, which was omitted from the LP due to issues with running time.

The Blue Orchids The Once and Future Thing Track Listing:

1. Good Day To Live
2. Jam Today
3. Feather From The Sun
4. Motorway
5. Rosy Hours
6. August Rebels
7. Whisky Burn
8. Iron Tree
9. Running Blind
10. Road To Perilous

We Also Recommend