Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
The Brothers Comatose - City Painted Gold on Limited Edition LP + Download - direct audio

The Brothers Comatose - City Painted Gold on Limited Edition LP + Download

Swamp Jam Records

  • $ 1899

The Brothers Comatose City Painted Gold on Limited Edition LP + Download

Expansive, uplifting, and just downright beautiful, City Painted Gold is one of the most anticipated records of the coming year – at least amongst the loyal fans The Brothers Comatose had won while touring across the country in support of their past two releases. Infused with a sense of relaxed, experienced confidence, The Brothers Comatose offer a southwestern-tinged, rowdy stringband sound that might just make this your new favorite record before you turn it over to side B.

Walking lockstep with their undeniable top-flight musicianship is an easy humility. "It's just one, big, extended Morrison music party," they say. Brothers Ben and Alex Morrison, guitar and banjo, and lead vocalists, front this rocking string band that has become a West coast headliner and national touring act in a mere handful of years. With bassmaster Gio Benedetti and stellar accompanists Philip Brezina on fiddle and Ryan Avellone on mandolin, their high energy, audience engaging shows have caught fire with fans from San Diego to Seattle to Salt Lake to Silk Hope, NC and beyond.

When it came to write their third record, the now-seasoned road warriors returned to their home of fourteen years in the Haight-Ashbury neighborhood of San Francisco. "We wrote this album living in San Francisco as it was changing from a weird, art friendly mecca to a place that only super rich tech workers could afford," tells Ben. "Things started changing – venues were closing down, and artist and musician friends moved away. What is San Francisco without its weirdos? That's what the song City Painted Gold is about and that's why it's the name of this record."

Shortly after completing the record, The Brothers Comatose themselves joined the ranks of the displaced. Eviction brings change, and change inspires creativity. When our heroes got booted from their home city of over a decade, they did not despair – no! They wrote a new and wonderful album. If our heroes maintain their current trajectory we should all be really rather excited about what the future holds.

The Brothers Comatose City Painted Gold Track Listing:

1. Brothers
2. Angeline
3. City Painted Gold
4. Tops of the Trees
5. Knoxville Foxhole
6. She's A Hurricane
7. The Way The West Was Won
8. Black Light Moon
9. Dance Upon Your Grave
10. Valerie
11. Yohio

We Also Recommend