Cart 0
The Byrds - Dr. Byrds & Mr. Hyde Vinyl LP

The Byrds - Dr. Byrds & Mr. Hyde Vinyl LP

Sundazed Records

  • $ 2498

The Byrds Dr. Byrds & Mr. Hyde Vinyl LP

A key transitional touchstone in The Byrds’ fabled canon, 1969’s Dr. Byrds & Mr. Hyde was the next stop in the band’s pioneering country-rock trajectory and the first album by the post-Gram Parsons lineup. With leader Roger McGuinn at the helm of a stellar new edition of the band featuring guitar god Clarence White, drummer Gene Parsons and bassist John York, Dr. Byrds & Mr. Hyde sees The Byrds bridging the gap between the psychedelic flights of the group’s mid-’60s albums and the down-home, country-based style developed only months earlier with Sweetheart of the Rodeo.

In addition to containing the strong McGuinn originals “King Apathy III” and “Old Blue,” Dr. Byrds & Mr. Hyde includes more of the band’s beloved interpretations of Bob Dylan classics like “This Wheel’s on Fire,” a medley blending “My Back Pages” with Jimmy Reed’s “Baby, What You Want Me to Do” and even a Gram Parsons collaboration, “Drug Store Truck Drivin’ Man.” Dr. Byrds & Mr. Hyde also boasts two tracks composed by McGuinn for the obscure, racy ’60s cult movie Candy.

Mastered from the original Columbia Records analog master reels, Sundazed’s exact reproduction of the original LP is as good as it gets!

The Byrds Dr. Byrds & Mr. Hyde Track Listing:

1. This Wheel’s On Fire
2. Old Blue
3. Your Gentle Way of Loving Me
4. Child of the Universe
5. Nashville West
6. Drug Store Truck Drivin’ Man
7. King Apathy III
8. Candy
9. Bad Night at the Whiskey
10. Medley: My Back Pages–B. J. Blues–Baby, What You Want Me to Do

We Also Recommend