We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
The Cult - Hidden City 180g 45RPM Vinyl 2LP + Download (Special Order) - direct audio

The Cult - Hidden City 180g 45RPM Vinyl 2LP + Download (Special Order)

Cooking Vinyl Records

  • $ 3098

The Cult Hidden City 180g 45RPM Vinyl 2LP + Download

When Rolling Stone hailed The Cult as "the Messianic moment of Coachella" in 2014, few knew that their next release would be unveiled in February 2016 in the form of Hidden City, their tenth studio album (and second for Cooking Vinyl). The final installment in a trilogy of recordings, completing 2007's Born Into This and 2012's Choice of Weapon, Hidden City is a tightly-woven series of experience and visions with underlying themes of redemption and rebirth threaded through The Cult's visceral music.

Ian Astbury's signature baritone and blood-soaked lyrics paired with Billy Duffy's smoldering, textured guitar tones, create a musical environment that is fearless and peerless. From the sonic assault of the opening track "Dark Energy," Hidden City launches quickly into the dark underbelly of its subject matter. Stemming from the Spanish phrase "La Ciudad Oculta" or "hidden city," the album reflects an awakening of consciousness through its tone and complexity.

"Hidden City is a metaphor for our spiritual lives our intimate interior lives," explains Astbury. "I find today's gurus are trying to peddle some cure, product or insight as if it's a new phenomenon. My place is to respond, not react, to observe, participate and share through words and music. There is no higher authority than the heart."

Produced by Bob Rock and written by Astbury and Duffy, the team has collaborated on what has turned out to be the brutal and beautiful masterpiece Hidden City. From the iconic Love album bursting with idealism to the dystopia of 2001's Beyond Good & Evil to the current seductive Hidden City, the band lives their art. A new chapter dawns for The Cult as the future unfolds the band will respond. It's what they do.

The Cult Hidden City Track Listing:


1. Dark Energy
2. No Love Lost
3. Dance The Night
4. In Blood
5. Birds Of Paradise
6. Hinterland


1. G O A T
2. Deeply Ordered Chaos
3. Avalanche Of Light
4. Lilies
5. Heathens
6. Sound & Fury

We Also Recommend