Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
The Doors - LA Woman: The Workshop Sessions 180g 2LP w/ 4th Side Etching - direct audio

The Doors - LA Woman: The Workshop Sessions 180g 2LP w/ 4th Side Etching

Rhino Records

  • $ 3498

The Doors LA Woman: The Workshop Sessions on 180g 2LP w/ 4th Side Etching from Rhino

Featuring 8 Alternate Versions and a Previously Unreleased Original

Your Invitation to the What Went Down During the Recording of the Doors' Quintessential 1971 Masterwork

Studio Banter and Exchanges Help Illuminate Creation of Album

Here's your invitation into what went down in the studio during the record of the Doors' quintessential classic: L.A. Woman: The Workshop Sessions features eight never-before-heard versions of songs from the Doors' 1971 album and a never-before-heard song, "She Smells So Nice," which captures the band joyfully barreling through a full-throttle original before segueing into the blues standard "Rock Me." As the song closes, Jim Morrison can be heard chanting, "Mr. Mojo Risin," an anagram of his name that was made famous during the bridge of "L.A. Woman." The track was recently discovered by producer Bruce Botnick while reviewing the L.A. Woman session tapes.

Alternate takes of "The Changeling," "Love Her Madly," "Cars Hiss By My Window," "L.A. Woman," "The Wasp (Texas Radio and the Big Beat)," "Been Down So Long" and "Riders On The Storm" offer a fresh view on this landmark release, which was the group's last album and sixth straight Top 10.

The studio chatter between songs is a revelation, transporting listeners to The Doors' West Hollywood rehearsal space where they recorded the album with Botnick. One segment in particular captures a fascinating moment of inspiration when Morrison suggests they add the now iconic thunderstorm sound effects to the beginning of "Riders On The Storm."

This 180g 2LP edition of LA Woman: The Workshop Sessions is presented on three sides of vinyl, with the fourth side featuring a laser etching.

The Doors LA Woman: The Workshop Sessions Track Listing:


1. The Changeling (Alternate Version)
2. Love Her Madly (Alternate Version)
3. Cars Hiss By My Window (Alternate Version)
4. L.A. Woman (Alternate Version)
5. The Wasp (Texas Radio and the Big Beat) (Alternate Version)
6. Been Down So Long (Alternate Version)
7. Riders On the Storm (Alternate Version)


1. She Smells So Nice/Rock Me

We Also Recommend