Cart 0
The Fratellis - We Need Medicine on 180g LP + CD - direct audio

The Fratellis - We Need Medicine 180g Vinyl LP + CD

BMG Records

  • $ 2098

The Fratellis We Need Medicine 180g Vinyl LP + CD

How do you cope with sky-scraping success? Specifically, how do you live with a song that was a giant, culture-puncturing hit, that won’t go away, that is still all over the radio and the terraces and stadiums, that remains as catchy and infectious and invigorating as it was when it was released seven years ago. You come up with an album such as We Need Medicine – the third studio album from The Fratellis.

The song in question is "Chelsea Dagger," The Fratellis’ deathless breakthrough single that set the band on the road to selling over a million copies of 2006 debut album Costello Music, and to winning a Brit Award (Best British Breakthrough Act, as voted for by the listeners of Radio 1).

After a five year hiatus following the release of second album Here We Stand and its supporting tour, the rebooted Fratellis – Jon (vocals/guitar/piano), Barry (bass) and Mince (drums) – are back and all about the future. We Need Medicine is the rallying cry of a band looking forward. Bend an ear to the brilliantly energetic and robustly tuneful songs propelling the band’s tonic of a comeback and you’ll feel better in a flash. That’s the smile-inducing Fratellis factor for you.

The pounding piano of "Jeannie Nitro" its title taken from a novel by Charles Bukowski, the writer that Jon reads compulsively, (“it’s like background TV noise for me”). It joins the cast of great Fratellis character songs such as "Chelsea Dagger," "Henrietta," "My Friend John," "Mistress Mabel." "This Old Ghost Town" leaps out of the speakers, a turbo-charged piano-drums-guitars blast, while "Seven Nights Seven Days," the first single, is a rollicking, jump-around anthem whose exuberance belies the subject matter.

Laughter, of course, being the best medicine, along with rip-roaring songs and heartfelt sentiment. We Need Medicine. We need excitement. We need tunes. We need The Fratellis. Three cheers for what’s likely to be the best comeback of the year. 180g vinyl pressing with CD insert from BMG.

The Fratellis We Need Medicine Track Listing:

1. Halloween Blues
2. This Old Ghost Town
3. She's Not Gone Yet But She's Leaving
4. Seven Nights Seven Days
5. Shotgun Shoes
6. Whisky Saga
7. This Is Not The End Of The World
8. Jeannie Nitro
9. We Need Medicine
10. Rock n Roll Will Break Your Heart
11. Until She Saves My Soul

We Also Recommend