Cart 0
Grateful Dead - Reckoning on 200g 2LP - direct audio

Grateful Dead - Reckoning on 200g 2LP

Analogue Productions

  • $ 5498

The Grateful Dead Reckoning on 200g 2LP 

Acoustic Dead Fabled Concert Masters Strip Down to the Essentials on Live Set Compiled from Exceptional 1980 Performances at Warfield Theater and Radio City Music Hall

Getting Back to the Roots: Blend of Originals and Covers Harkens Back to Band Members' Initial Love for Country, Blues, and Bluegrass

Fabulous Sound: LP Set Cut From the Original Analog Masters and Pressed on 200g Vinyl at Quality Record Pressings

Another Side of the Dead, Free of Long-Form Jams and Experimental Solos

Terrapin Station Also Available on 200g Vinyl from Analogue Productions

Acoustic Dead In the fall of 1980, the Grateful Dead purposefully played a series of shows at two venues (the Warfield Theater in San Francisco and Radio City Music Hall in New York City) that were considerably smaller than the stadiums and arenas the band, by that point, regularly sold-out. The group did so with the express interest of recording in an intimate space the opening portion of each show, a stripped-down acoustic set featuring Jerry Garcia and Bob Weir playing acoustic guitars, Brent Mydland playing piano, drummers Bill Kreutzmann and Mickey Hart helming reduced percussion kits, and bassist Phil Lesh turning his electric volume down considerably.

The group mixed classic folk and country tunes along with bare-bones originals and collected some of the best of these performances on Reckoning, an obvious ode to the band's early 1960s origins of folk, bluegrass and country. These are the sounds from which this whole long, strange trip was born. Garcia, in particular, shines radiantly, via his warm voice and interwoven guitar lines.

The production, as with many records focused on the bare essentials and on unplugged elements, portrays the group in close proximity to one another, each note and phrase blending together, each member's passages heard in a distinctive space. Reckoning should particularly appeal to music lovers that prefer a rootsy Dead that isn't give over to jamming. As such, the songs here are tight and compact, and yet dynamically delicate and eminently soulful.

And they've never sounded better. Cut from the original analog masters and pressed at Quality Record Pressings, this edition of Reckoning lays waste to the original LP edition and blows away the digitally remastered CD, with plusher tones, wider and deeper soundstages, and more palpable acoustic body. Don't miss this acoustic gem!

The Grateful Dead Reckoning Track Listing:

1. Dire Wolf
2. The Race Is On
3. Oh Babe It Ain't No Lie
4. It Must Have Been The Roses
5. Dark Hollow
6. China Doll
7. Been All Around This World
8. Monkey And The Engineer
9. Jack-A-Roe
10. Deep Elem Blues
11. Cassidy
12. To Lay Me Down
13. Rosalie McFall
14. On The Road Again
15. Bird Song
16. Ripple

We Also Recommend