Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
The Hollies - Beat Group 180g Vinyl LP - direct audio

The Hollies - Beat Group 180g Vinyl LP

Sundazed Records

  • $ 2998

The Hollies Beat Group 180g Vinyl LP

Out of Print for Decades

Sourced from the Original U.K. Mono Master

Perhaps the most undervalued band of the original British Invasion, The Hollies’ hits are well known in the U.S., but their early albums are almost impossible to find! Taking their name from Buddy Holly and modeling their harmonies on the Everly Brothers, the Hollies gathered these American musical ingredients and whipped them into a wholly-unique concoction. Forging their sound to the east of their Liverpool brothers-in-beat, this Manchester quintet had it all: the soaring vocals of Allan Clarke, Graham Nash and Tony Hicks; Hicks’ cascading, arpeggio-laden licks on guitar and a hard-hitting rhythm section driven by drummer extraordinaire Bobby Elliot.

On top of that, their keen ears for top quality songs, written by the premier songsmiths of the day like teenage wunderkind Graham Gouldman, Chip “Wild Thing” Taylor and the stellar in-house writing team of Clarke/Hicks/Nash, ensured that their albums were extraordinary from start to finish. In short, they were a band that exuded greatness on all fronts. Now, as that greatness has been acknowledged by their induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Sundazed Music proudly presents meticulously restored vinyl editions of the rare U.S. mono versions of the Hollies’ third and fourth Imperial label albums, from 1966.

Originally released in the U.S. in 1966, Beat Group! was the American cousin to the Hollies' British LP Would You Believe? However, identical cousins they were not: Beat Group! boasts substantially altered musical content and completely different cover art. Led by the snap-jangle-pop of the smash single, “I Can’t Let Go,” the album is a thrilling combination of originals and R&B covers ripped from their riotous live sets. Highlights include commanding versions of Buddy Holly's "Take Your Time," Sam and Dave's "I Take What I Want" and the Otis Redding/O.V. Wright classic "That's How Strong My Love Is." Original songs "Hard Hard Year," "Oriental Sadness" and "Fifi the Flea," along with Mersey Beat staples "A Taste of Honey" and "Mr. Moonlight” round out the excellent set.

Out of print for decades, this classic album is finally available again! Sourced from the aurally awesome original U.K. mono master, Beat Group is pressed on pristine 180g vinyl per your turntable’s request.

The Hollies Beat Group Track Listing:

1. I Can’t Let Go
2. That’s How Strong My Love Is
3. Running Through The Night
4. Oriental Sadness (She’ll Never Trust In Anybody No More)
5. A Taste Of Honey
6. Mr. Moonlight
7. Don’t You Even Care (What’s Gonna Happen To Me?)
8. Hard Hard Year
9. Take Your Time
10. Fifi The Flea
11. I Take What I Want

We Also Recommend