Cart 0
The Kinks - Face To Face on 180g LP - direct audio

The Kinks - Face To Face on 180g Vinyl LP

Sanctuary Records

  • $ 2398

The Kinks Face To Face on 180g Vinyl LP

Heralding The Kinks move away from their hard rock sound to a more songwriting based style, 1966's Face to Face was a major artistic breakthrough for the band and songwriter Ray Davies as it represents the first full flowering of his use of narrative, observation, and wry social commentary.

Face To Face features the #1 single "Sunny Afternoon" as well as a plethora of other classic Davies compositions rife with his signature sardonic wit. He skewers the vapid Don Juan of "Dandy" and the self-absorption and hypocrisy of the wealthy elite on tracks like "House in the Country" and "Most Exclusive Residence for Sale."

However, Davies' humanity is also on display on tracks like "Rosie, Won't You Please Come Home," an unusual 1960s pop song that sides with the plight of parents against the cruelty of a rebellious child while other highlights include the world-weary "Too Much on My Mind," the foreboding "Rainy Day in June," and the Eastern-tinged and enigmatic "Fancy."

The Kinks Face To Face Track Listing:

1. Party Line
2. Rose Won't You Please Come Home
3. Dandy
4. Too Much On My Mind
5. Session Man
6. Rainy Day In June
7. A House In The Country
8. Holiday In Waikiki
9. Most Exclusive Residence For Sale
10. Fancy
11. Little Miss Queen Of Darkness
12. You're Lookin' Fine
13. Sunny Afternoon
14. I'll Remember

We Also Recommend