Cart 0
The Kinks - Muswell Hillbillies: Legacy Edition on 180g 2LP - direct audio

The Kinks - Muswell Hillbillies: Legacy Edition on 180g Vinyl 2LP

Legacy Records

  • $ 3698

The Kinks Muswell Hillbillies: Legacy Edition on 180g Vinyl 2LP

Expanded with 2nd LP of 9 Rare Bonus Tracks from the Recording Sessions & 3 BBC Peel Session Performances

One of the most important and influential artists in rock history, The Kinks have been credited by many as the crucial '60s genesis for everything from heavy metal to garage punk to Britpop thanks to such immortal singles as “You Really Got Me,” “All Day and All of the Night” and “Lola” among many others.

Released in 1971, Muswell Hillbillies, their first album for the RCA label, was a vivid portrait of working class life in the band's North London home. Rolling Stone called it Ray Davies' "signature statement" as a songwriter. Sonically Muswell Hillbillies was a marked departure from the band’s rough-and-tumble approach of the ‘60s, taking influences from turn-of-the-century British music hall and country styles, with expanded arrangements thanks to the brass section The Mike Cotton Sound.

While Muswell Hillbillies did not enjoy the same commercial success of its predecessors, it remains one of the most acclaimed studio albums in the band’s 50-year history. This expanded legacy edition of the album adds to its legend with a second LP featuring nine rare bonus tracks from the recording sessions for the album plus three BBC Peel Session performances.

The Kinks Muswell Hillbillies - Legacy Edition Track Listing:


1. 20th Century Man
2. Acute Schizophrenia Paranoia Blues
3. Holiday
4. Skin And Bone
5. Alcohol
6. Complicated Life
7. Here Come The People In Grey
8. Have A Cuppa Tea
9. Holloway Jail
10. Oklahoma U.S.A.
11. Uncle Son
12. Muswell Hillbilly


1. Lavendar Lane
2. Mountain Woman
3. Have A Cuppa Tea (alternate version)
4. Uncle Son (alternate version)
5. Kentucky Moon
6. Nobody’s Fool (demo)
7. Acute Schizophrenia Paranoia Blues (BBC Peel Session)
8. Holiday (BBC Peel Session)
9. Skin and Bone (BBC Peel Session)
10. 20th Century Man (alternate instrumental take)
11. Queenie (backing track)
12. Muswell Hillbillies radio spots

We Also Recommend