Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
The Marcus King Band - The Marcus King Band Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

The Marcus King Band - The Marcus King Band Vinyl 2LP

Fantasy Records

  • $ 2998

The Marcus King Band The Marcus King Band Vinyl 2LP

Second Full-Length LP from Young Guitar Wunderkind Marcus King Produced by Warren Haynes Who Along with Derek Trucks Also Guests!

Songwriter. Guitarist. Singer. Bandleader. At only 20 years of age, Marcus King's dazzling musical ability is on full display throughout The Marcus King Band, the young phenom's second full-length LP and first for Fantasy Records. The album was produced by one of King's long time heroes Warren Haynes, who expertly wraps the band's muscular live energy around a rising young songwriter of unusual clarity and depth.

The album highlights King's gorgeous, rough-hewn vocals, soaring guitar work and heartfelt songs. Written entirely on the road and recorded during a series of sessions at Carriage House Studios in Stamford, CT, the album features King on lead vocals and guitar, Jack Ryan on drums and percussion, Stephen Campbell on bass, Matt Jennings on keys and organ, Dean Mitchell on saxophone, and Justin Johnson on trumpet, trombone and backing vocals. The album also includes a number of the band's mentors and collaborators, including Derek Trucks (who plays guitar on "Self-Hatred") and Haynes, who in addition to producing the album, adds his trademark slide guitar on "Virginia."

Haynes has played a key role as mentor and friend to King, witnessing firsthand his remarkable growth in a short span of time. "Marcus is the first player I've heard since Derek Trucks to play with the maturity of a musician well beyond his age," Haynes says. "He's very much influenced by the blues, but also by jazz, rock, soul music, and any timeless genre of music. You can hear the influences, but it all comes through him in his own unique way. He has one of those voices that instantly draws you in, and his guitar playing is an extension of his voice and vice versa."

The Marcus King Band The Marcus King Band Track Listing:

1. Ain't Nothin' Wrong With That
2. Devil's Land
3. Rita Is Gone
4. Self-Hatred
5. Jealous Man
6. The Man You Didn't Know
7. Plant Your Corn Early
8. Radio Soldier
9. Guitar In My Hands
10. Thespian Esionage
11. Virginia
12. Sorry 'Bout Your Lover
13. Dave's Apparition Part II
14. The Mystery of Mr. Eads

We Also Recommend