We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
The National - I Am Easy to Find 180g Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

The National - I Am Easy to Find 180g Vinyl 2LP

4AD Records

  • $ 2998

The National I Am Easy to Find 180g Vinyl 2LP

In September 2017, director Mike Mills emailed Matt Berninger to introduce himself and in very short order, the most ambitious project of the National's nearly 20-year career was born and plans for a hard-earned vacation died. The Los Angeles-based filmmaker was coming off his third feature, 20th Century Women, and was interested in working with the band on...something. A video maybe. Berninger, already a fan of Mills' films, not only agreed to collaborate, he essentially handed over the keys to the band's creative process.

The result is I Am Easy to Find, a 24-minute film by Mills starring Alicia Vikander, and I Am Easy to Find, a 68-minute album by the National. The former is not the video for the latter; the latter is not the soundtrack to the former. The two projects are, as Mills calls them, "Playfully hostile siblings that love to steal from each other" - they share music and words and DNA and impulses and a vision about what it means to be human in 2019, but don't necessarily need one another.

The movie was composed like a piece of music; the music was assembled like a film, by a film director. The frontman and natural focal point was deliberately and dramatically sidestaged in favor of a variety of female voices, nearly all of whom have long been in the group's orbit. It is unlike anything either artist has ever attempted and also totally in line with how they've created for much of their careers.

As the album's opening track, "You Had Your Soul With You," unfurls, it's so far, so National: a digitally manipulated guitar line, skittering drums, Berninger's familiar baritone, mounting tension. Then around the 2:15 mark, the true nature of I Am Easy To Find announces itself: the racket subsides, strings swell, and the voice of long-time David Bowie bandmate Gail Ann Dorsey booms out – not as background vocals, not as a hook, but to take over the song.

The National I Am Easy to Find Track Listing:


1. You Had Your Soul with You
2. Quiet Light
3. Roman Holiday
4. Oblivions
5. The Pull of You
6. Hey Rosey
7. I Am Easy to Find
8. Her Father in the Pool


1. Where Is Her Head
2. Not in Kansas
3. So Far So Fast
4. Dust Swirls in Strange Light
5. Hairpin Turns
6. Rylan
7. Underwater
8. Light Years

We Also Recommend