We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
The Pentangle - Basket Of Light 180g Import Vinyl LP - direct audio

The Pentangle - Basket Of Light 180g Import Vinyl LP

Music On Vinyl Records

  • $ 2598

The Pentangle Basket Of Light 180g Import Vinyl LP

Basket Of Light is the most progressive and complex release by the British folk-rock group Pentangle. Traditional English folk songs are reinterpreted with a mix of jazz, pop and rock influences. Everything their previous works promised is fulfilled here. The album opener "Light Flight" has become their signature song. If there is a prog folk masterpiece then it is Basket Of Light. Pentangle proved they could release a progressive, ground-breaking work without keyboards, much studio trickery or even electric instruments. The album was included in the book 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die.

The original Pentangle was active in the late 1960s and early 1970s. The original line-up includes Bert Jansch (vocals & guitar) and John Renbourn (vocals & guitar). 

"Although Sweet Child is usually cited as the group's high-water mark, Basket of Light finds them at their most progressive and exciting. Highlights of this album -- which actually reached the Top Five in the U.K. -- include the buzzing jazz dynamics of 'Light Flight,' their moving rendition of the traditional folk song 'Once I Had a Sweetheart,' their reinvention of the girl group smash 'Sally Go Round the Roses,' and 'Springtime Promises,' one of their finest original tunes." - AllMusic

The Pentangle Basket Of Light Track Listing:

1. Light Flight
2. Once I Had A Sweetheart
3. Springtime Promises
4. Lyke-Wake Dirge
5. Train Song
6. Hunting Song
7. Sally Go Round The Roses
8. The Cuckoo
9. House Carpenter

We Also Recommend