We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
The Rolling Stones - Beggars Banquet on 180g Clear Vinyl LP - direct audio

The Rolling Stones - Beggars Banquet on 180g Clear Vinyl LP

Abkco Records

  • $ 2398

The Rolling Stones Beggars Banquet on 180g Clear Vinyl LP

180g LP of Beggars Banquet Cut from High-Resolution Digital Audio Files Sourced from the Original Master Tapes: 1968 Set Ranks #58 on Rolling Stone's 500 Greatest Albums of All Time

As the sixties drained into the seventies, the Rolling Stones went on a creative run that rivals any in popular music. Beggars Banquet (1968), Let It Bleed (1969), Sticky Fingers (1971) and Exile on Main Street (1972) routinely turn up on lists of the greatest albums of all time, and deservedly so. All done with American producer Jimmy Miller – “an incredible rhythm man,” in Keith Richards’ terse description – those records shake like the culture itself was shaking.

From the manner Beggars Banquet was recorded at Olympic Studios in Barnes, London, to the track selection, a mixture of rockers (“Street Fighting Man”), blues numbers (“Prodigal Son,” “No Expectations”) and ballads (“Salt Of The Earth”), the band truly came into their own as both authentic artists and unprecedented songwriters.

The genesis of the epic song “Sympathy For The Devil” is well documented in the Jean Luc Goddard film One Plus One. While 1967′s Their Satanic Majesties was recorded after Mick and Keith’s traumatic and unjust, drug busts, it was almost too soon to be reflected in their songwriting. Whereas “Sympathy For The Devil,” and much of Beggars Banquet hint at a defiance at what they’d been through, and a strength from the experience.

The album also marks a change in musical direction for the band, with the debut of Jimmy Miller as producer. Miller had also produced Traffic and Spooky Tooth, and co-wrote “I’m A Man” with Steve Winwood. Other musicians who appeared on the album are Nicky Hopkins on piano, Dave Mason on guitar and mandolin and a gospel choir from Los Angeles.

The Rolling Stones Beggars Banquet Track Listing:

1. Sympathy for the Devil
2. No Expectations
3. Dear Doctor
4. Parachute Woman
5. Jig-Saw Puzzle
6. Street Fighting Man
7. Prodigal Son
8. Stray Cat Blues
9. Factory Girl
10. Salt of the Earth

We Also Recommend