We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0

The Rolling Stones - The Rolling Stones Rock and Roll Circus 180g Vinyl 3LP

Abkco Records

  • $ 5898

The Rolling Stones The Rolling Stones Rock and Roll Circus 180g Vinyl 3LP

Filmed over two days in December 1968, The Rolling Stones Rock and Roll Circus starred the '60s line-up of the Stones, complete with Brian Jones. They were joined by The Who, Jethro Tull, Taj Mahal, Marianne Faithfull, Yoko Ono and the remarkable, impromptu supergroup known as The Dirty Mac, comprising John Lennon, Keith Richards, Mitch Mitchell of the Jimi Hendrix Experience and Eric Clapton.

The film's soundtrack has undergone a new mix and has been expanded to 28 tracks for new 2019 editions. Bonus material includes music by the late American concert pianist Julius Katchen, introduced by Jones; three additional songs by blues titan Taj Mahal; and previously unheard recordings by The Dirty Mac of The Beatles' "Revolution" as well as "Warmup Jam." The soundtrack is presented here as a 180g vinyl 3LP package for the first time!

The film, originally intended as a BBC special and shot in north London by director Michael Lindsay-Hogg and cinematographer Tony Richmond, used a Felliniesque circus backdrop for a unique live happening. The Stones were seen performing six songs ("Jumpin' Jack Flash," "Parachute Woman," "No Expectations," "You Can't Always Get What You Want," "Sympathy for the Devil" and "Salt of The Earth") in front of an audience for the first time. The lucky witnesses to the event were fan club members, contest winners and friends; plans for the film to air to promote the band's Beggars Banquet album, released in the week it was shot, were abandoned in the wake of Jones' departure and subsequent death. It was not officially released until 1996.

"It was an incredible shoot, I think, 36 hours or something," says Richards "I remember not remembering everything towards the end...but it was fun...we went through two audiences...wore one out...it was great!"

The Rolling Stones The Rolling Stones Rock and Roll Circus Track Listing:


1. Mick Jagger's Introduction Of Rock And Roll Circus - Mick Jagger
2. Entry Of The Gladiators - Circus Band
3. Mick Jagger's Introduction Of Jethro Tull - Mick Jagger
4. Song For Jeffrey - Jethro Tull
5. Keith Richards' Introduction Of The Who - Keith Richards
6. A Quick One While He's Away - The Who
7. Over The Waves - Circus Band
8. Ain't That A Lot Of Love - Taj Mahal
9. Charlie Watts' Introduction Of Marianne Faithfull - Charlie Watts
10. Something Better - Marianne Faithfull
11. Mick Jagger's and John Lennon's Introduction Of The Dirty Mac - Mick Jagger & John Lennon
12. Yer Blues - The Dirty Mac
13. Whole Lotta Yoko - Yoko Ono & Ivry Gitlis with The Dirty Mac


1. John Lennon's Introduction Of The Rolling Stones - Jumpin' Jack Flash - The Rolling Stones
2. Parachute Woman - The Rolling Stones
3. No Expectations - The Rolling Stones
4. You Can't Always Get What You Want - The Rolling Stones
5. Sympathy for the Devil - The Rolling Stones
6. Salt Of The Earth - The Rolling Stones


1. Checkin' Up On My Baby - Taj Mahal
2. Leaving Trunk - Taj Mahal
3. Corinna - Taj Mahal
4. Revolution (rehearsal) - The Dirty Mac
5. Warmup Jam - The Dirty Mac
6. Yer Blues (take 2) - The Dirty Mac
7. Brian Jones' Introduction of Julius Katchen - Brian Jones
8. de Falla: Ritual Fire Dance - Julius Katchen
9. Mozart: Sonata In C Major-1st Movement - Julius Katchen

We Also Recommend