We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0

The Sisters Of Mercy - First And Last And Always 180g 4LP Box Set (Out Of Stock) Pre-order

Electra Records

  • $ 7498

The Sisters Of Mercy First And Last And Always 180g 4LP Box Set

30th Anniversary Box Set Combines The Band's 1985 Classic With Three EPs From That Era

The Sisters of Mercy mastered the art of dark and foreboding rock in 1985 with the band's influential major-label debut, First And Last And Always. To commemorate the album's 30-year anniversary, Rhino will release a vinyl boxed set that includes the original album together with three 12" EPs from that era: Body And Soul, No Time To Cry and Walk Away. The set contains four LPs, all pressed on 180-gram vinyl, and comes packed in an attractive card slipcase.

When The Sisters of Mercy signed with WEA in May 1984, the band consisted of Andrew Eldritch (vocals), Gary Marx and Wayne Hussey (guitars), Craig Adams (bass) and a drum machine named Doktor Avalanche. The group's first release for the label was the 12" EP Body and Soul. Eldritch once described the release as: "a vision of heaven with everyone on speed." Two of its four-tracks-"Body Electric" (1984 Version) and "Afterhours"- have only been available on the original 12". This new release makes these songs available digitally for the first time ever.

In March 1985, almost a year after Body And Soul, The Sisters of Mercy released its landmark album, First and Last and Always. It climbed to #14 on the album charts in the band's native England. Among the standout tracks are "Marian," "Rock And A Hard Place" and the ominous "Black Planet," which was released as a single in the U.S. Even though the album was enthusiastically embraced by goth rock culture, Eldritch has steadfastly rejected the label, saying the band has more in common with classic rock from the '60s than the post-punk scene of the '80s.

Also featured in this set are two singles from First and Last and Always that were issued as 12" singles with multiple b-sides. "Walk Away" was backed with "Poison Door" and "On The Wire." That was followed by "No Time To Cry," which was backed with "Blood Money" and "Bury Me Deep."

Sisters Of Mercy First And Last And Always Box Set Contents:

LP1 - First And Last And Always

1. Black Planet
2. Walk Away
3. No Time To Cry
4. A Rock And A Hard Place
5. Marian
6. First And Last And Always
7. Possession
8. Nine While Nine
9. Logic
10. Some Kind Of Stranger

LP2 - Body And Soul

1. Body And Soul
2. Body Electric (1984 version)
3. Train
4. Afterhours

LP3 - Walk Away

1. Walk Away
2. Poison Door
3. On The Wire

LP4 - No Time To Cry

1. No Time To Cry
2. Blood Money
3. Bury Me Deep

We Also Recommend