Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
The Velvet Underground - White Light/White Heat: 45th Anniversary Edition 180g Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

The Velvet Underground - White Light/White Heat: 45th Anniversary Edition 180g Vinyl 2LP

Polydor Records

  • $ 3498

The Velvet Underground White Light/White Heat: 45th Anniversary Edition 180g Vinyl 2LP

Featuring the Original 6-Song Stereo Album Remastered Plus 7 Previously Unreleased Bonus Tracks

Developed In Conjunction with Lou Reed and John Cale

The Velvet Underground’s White Light/White Heat is one of the most confrontational and inspirational second albums ever made by a rock band. Recorded in a matter of days at the end of the summer of 1967, a season in which everything seemed possible in rock and much of it happened at now-mythic speed, White Light/White Heat is an album that reeks of the gritty NY street life and could only have been made in New York, by one band. And that group is the classic quartet lineup of The Velvet Underground – singer-guitarist Lou Reed; bassist-organist and viola player John Cale; guitarist-bassist Sterling Morrison; and drummer Maureen Tucker.

Originally released by Verve Records on January 30, 1968, the LP cracked Billboard's Top 200 albums chart on March 16, entering at No. 199. Forty-five years later, The Velvet Underground’s White Light/White Heat is considered one of the most influential albums of all time, laying down the blue print for punk and experimental rock, critically acclaimed and included on many “Top Lists” including Rolling Stone’s 500 Greatest Albums Of All Time and on Rolling Stone’s Greatest Artists List.

White Light/White Heat starts with the album’s title track plunging you head first into 40 minutes of unprecedented, transgressive rock storytelling, propelled by epic distortion, lacerating guitar drone and severe, rhythmic purism – "the Statue of Liberty of punk," Lou Reed contends, "with the light on top. It's beyond unique and wonderful. No other group can touch what that is. You can't try to be that."

Other tracks include the airy yearning of "Here She Comes Now," one of the Velvets' finest ballads which gives the listener a two-minute breather with its “almost” serene beauty before being launched back in; the upbeat, hard-hitting proto-punk track "I Heard Her Call My Name,” punctuated with Reed’s biting guitar soloing, intertwined with a wall of distortion and feedback; the experimental sung and spoken noir of "Lady Godiva's Operation" and "The Gift”; climaxing with the propulsive, distorted eternity of sexual candor and twilight drug life, rendered dry and real in Reed's lethal monotone, in the 17-minute-plus "Sister Ray."

In honor of the album's 45th anniversary, Universal Music Enterprises will release The Velvet Underground - White Light/White Heat 45th Anniversary deluxe vinyl edition, featuring 13 tracks across 2LPs including the original 6-song stereo release, completely remastered, and 7 bonus tracks including previously unreleased alternate versions, original mixes and instrumental versions. The 45th anniversary set was developed in conjunction with Lou Reed and John Cale and comes pressed on double 180g virgin vinyl housed in a beautiful gatefold jacket.

Bonus tracks include an alternate take of “I Heard Her Call My Name”; the instrumental version of “Guess I’m Falling In Love,” recorded during the White Light/White Heat sessions but left unfinished; plus the original mixes of tracks “Temptation Inside Your Head” and “Stephanie Says”; two different recordings of “Hey Mr. Rain”; and a previously unreleased early version of “Beginning To See The Light” recorded during John Cale’s last studio session with the Velvet Underground in May of 1968.

The Velvet Underground White Light/White Heat: 45th Anniversary Edition Track Listing:


1. White Light/White Heat
2. The Gift
3. Lady Godiva's Operation
4. Here She Comes Now
5. I Heard Her Call My Name
6. Sister Ray


1. I Heard Her Call My Name (Alternate Take)
2. Guess I'm Falling In Love (Instrumental Version) (Previously Unreleased)
3. Temptation Inside Your Heart (Original Mix)
4. Stephanie Says (Original Mix)
5. Hey Mr. Rain (Version One) (Previously Unreleased)
6. Hey Mr. Rain (Version Two) (Previously Unreleased)
7. Beginning To See The Light (Previously Unreleased Early Version) (Previously Unreleased)

We Also Recommend