Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
The Who - Face Dances 180g Vinyl LP - direct audio

The Who - Face Dances 180g Vinyl LP


  • $ 2498

The Who Face Dances 180g Vinyl LP

Remastered & Reissued in Celebration of The Who Hits 50! Pressed at Quality Record Pressings.

There is no more significant a milestone in rock music than the 50th anniversary. Through the decades, The Who redefined rock music as we know it and their influence continues in all areas of popular culture to this day. The Who Hits 50! continues throughout all of 2015 with very special re-releases throughout the year and a huge celebratory show in Hyde Park.

2015 sees all of the band’s 11 studio albums released on vinyl alongside a double vinyl version of their ultimate hits package The Who Hits 50! including My Generation (1965), A Quick One (1966), The Who Sell Out (1967), Tommy (1969), Who's Next (1971), Quadrophenia (1973), The Who By Numbers (1975), Who Are You (1978), Face Dances (1981), It's Hard (1982) and Endless Wire (2006). All of the albums have been re-mastered in 24/96 format and are pressed on heavyweight 180g vinyl. Each album will also have its original issue artwork.

Face Dances is The Who's ninth studio album originally released in 1981 as the follow-up to 1978's Who Are You. In the wake of the death of Keith Moon, The Who regrouped with Kenney Jones on drums and, initially, concentrated on live work. The new look Who launched themselves in a barrage of publicity, playing their first concert at London’s Rainbow Theatre on May 2, 1979. It wasn’t until over a year later that work began on Face Dances.

Aside from the arrival of Jones, there were other changes in the traditional Who modus operandi as well. John ‘Rabbit’ Bundrick played keyboards on stage and on some of the newer numbers Roger played guitar on stage for the first time since the days of The Detours in 1962. Pete Townshend’s song "Face Dances," incidentally, was never released by The Who although he did record it for his own All The Best Cowboys Have Chinese Eyes album in 1982.

Produced by Bill Szymczyk, despite its transitional conception, Face Dances is home to a handful of Townshend gems like "You Better You Bet," "Don't Let Go The Coat," "Cache Cache" and "How Can You Do It Alone" plus a pair of John Entwistle numbers in "The Quiet One" and "You." The album's cover art features portraits of the band members by 16 of Britain’s finest artists such as Bill Jacklin, Tom Phillips, Colin Self, Richard Hamilton, Mike Andrews, Allen Jones, David Inshaw, David Hockney, Clive Barker, R.B. Kitaj, Howard Hodgkin, Patrick Caulfield, Peter Blake, Joe Tilson, Patrick Procktor and David Tindle.

The Who Face Dances Track Listing:

1. You Better You Bet
2. Don't Let Go The Coat
3. Cache Cache
4. The Quiet One
5. Did You Steal My Money?
6. How Can You Do It Alone?
7. Daily Records
8. You
9. Another Tricky Day

Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review Write a review

We Also Recommend