Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
The Who - Tommy 180g Vinyl 2LP (Out Of Stock) Pre-order - direct audio

The Who - Tommy 180g Vinyl 2LP (Out Of Stock) Pre-order

Polydor Records

  • $ 3498

The Who Tommy 180g Vinyl 2LP

Stellar Audiophile Edition: Mastered by Kevin Gray and Pressed on 180g Vinyl at QRP

Analog Expert Michael Fremer Raves About This Version, Sourced from 96k/24-bit Files

The Who's pioneering rock opera Tommy requires no introduction. But this stellar pressing, mastered by Kevin Gray and pressed at QRP, deserves your attention. While many editions of this 1969 work have come and gone over the years, none have the dynamics, tonalities, and spatial qualities of this double-LP set. Presented in its original LP configuration, this is the analog version to own.

Writing for Analog Planet, Michael Fremer raves about this new reissue's sound and the similarities to the original Track Records LP. Since Universal won't disclose the 96k/24-bit files' source, it's safe to say audiophiles should take Mr. Fremer at his word. The rest of the proof is in the listening. And for anyone that needs a refresher on the record's tantamount importance, here's a short summary:

Regarded as the very first rock opera, this 1969 breakthrough recording from the genius of Pete Townshend was highly controversial upon its initial release. The conceptual tale of the "deaf, dumb and blind" Tommy Walker displayed a startling, darker side to the former mod-rockers from Shepherds Bush. Highlighted at the Woodstock festival and film, the album peaked at #4 on the Billboard chart.

With Tommy, Townshend proved to himself and the world he could attempt such a libretto and still rock! It spawned such Who staples as "Pinball Wizard," "The Acid Queen," "I’m Free" and "We’re Not Gonna’ Take It" and the movie, Broadway and concertized versions have kept its imaginative story and music in the forefront for the past four decades!

"…Sonically, this is a very good vinyl reissue of Tommy. I'd have to be a knucklehead to write otherwise."
—Michael Fremer, Analog Planet, April 2014

The Who Tommy Track Listing:


1. Overture
2. It's A Boy
3. 1921
4. Amazing Journey
5. Sparks
6. Eyesight To The Blind (The Hawker)
7. Christmas
8. Cousin Kevin
9. The Acid Queen
10. Underture


1. Do You Think It's Alright?
2. Fiddle About
3. Pinball Wizard
4. There's A Doctor
5. Go To The Mirror!
6. Tommy Can You Hear Me?
7. Smash The Mirror
8. Sensation
9. Miracle Cure
10. Sally Simpson
11. I'm Free
12. Welcome
13. Tommy's Holiday Camp
14. We're Not Gonna Take It

We Also Recommend