We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Thelonious Monk Quartet - Monk's Dream 180g Vinyl LP - direct audio

Thelonious Monk Quartet - Monk's Dream 180g Vinyl LP

Impex Records

  • $ 3298

Thelonious Monk Quartet Monk's Dream 180g Import Vinyl LP

Highly Reviewed at HiFi+ - 10 out of 10 for Recording & Music!!!

Michael Fremer Rated 9/10 Music, 9/10 Sonics!

Heavy-Weight 180 Gram Audiophile All-Analog Pressing! Mastered by Kevin Gray & Pressed at RTI!

Recorded at the tail end of 1962 and originally issued in 1963, Monk's Dream is Thelonious Monk's debut for Columbia Records after releases for Blue Note, Prestige and Riverside. Working with producer Teo Macero and featured in a quartet setting with Charlie Rouse (tenor sax), John Ore (bass), and Frankie Dunlop, (drums), Monk's Dream was the best selling LP of Monk's lifetime, ultimately contributing to his appearance on the cover of Time magazine in 1964.

The 8-song set features five Monk originals including the rhythmically complex "Five Spot Blues" and "Bolivar Blues," as well as a pair of solo sides sans accompaniment in "Just A Gigolo" and "Body and Soul." Although a majority of the tracks had been previously recorded in various live settings with different titles, this quartet is regarded by many as one of the best groups Monk was ever associated with and it is their studio interpretations of the material that remain the definitive versions and add up to one of Monk's signature albums!


• Thelonious Monk (piano)
• Charlie Rouse (tenor sax)
• John Ore (bass)
• Frankie Dunlop (drums)

Thelonious Monk Quartet Monk's Dream Track Listing:

1. Monk's Dream
2. Body And Soul
3. Bright Mississippi
4. Five Spot Blues
5. Bolivar Blues
6. Just A Gigolo
7. Bye-Ya
8. Sweet And Lovely

We Also Recommend