Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Todd Rundgren / Emil Nikolaisen / Hans-Peter Lindstrom - Runddans Vinyl 2LP (Out Of Stock) Pre-order - direct audio

Todd Rundgren / Emil Nikolaisen / Hans-Peter Lindstrom - Runddans Vinyl 2LP (Out Of Stock) Pre-order

Smalltown Super Sounds

  • $ 2898

Todd Rundgren / Emil Nikolaisen / Hans-Peter Lindstrom Runddans Vinyl 2LP

One track, 39 minutes of music. Runddans is the result of the collaboration between Todd Rundgren, Hans-Peter Lindstrøm and Emil Nikolaisen (Serena-Maneesh). It’s a spiritual magnum-opus, that stands alongside Rundgren’s most worshipped trippy albums of the seventies, fusing his blue eyed soul with Lindstrom’s disco epics and Nikolaisen’s studio trickery into a cosmic mix of soul, synth, pop and disco.

The collaboration was born after Rundgren did a stomping remix of Lindstrøm’s track “Quiet Place To Live” in 2012 (Rundgren’s first ever remix). The three of them met in a studio in wintery Oslo that same year, and the music slowly mushroomed from there. Ideas grew and took u-turns that lead into a violently beautiful and strange creature.

The highly detailed and cacophonous sound of the album clearly conveys the international feel characteristic of Rundgren’s cutting edge soul of his most studio-driven epic, 1973′s A Wizard A True Star, as well as his classics Todd and Initiation. The synthesizers, the restlessness, the suites, the sonic antics, and the search for understanding, fulfillment and good times: it’s all here.

It also references his lost classic, the massively spiritual voice-only album A Capella from 1985. This, combined with Lindstrøm’s signature extended cosmic compositions and Emil’s psychedelic sound-quilting, paint the picture of three individuals on a journey towards musical bliss. While the album is one continuous song and meant to be listened to as such, it is broken down into 12 parts across 2LPs here.

“Runddans is the record that Todd-heads have been waiting 40 years for. Cosmic disco pioneer Hans-Peter Lindstrøm and Emil Nikolaisen of Serena-Maneesh have taken Todd Rundgren back to the future, back to the mid-‘70s glory days of Todd and Initiation, albums filled with spiritual longing and a desire to achieve transcendence. Dense, complex, thrillingly intricate yet sweepingly emotional, here the original laptop kid and the Norwegian electronicists capture a long-lost time while also managing to sound utterly future-perfect“ – Paul Lester (MOJO)

Todd Rundgren / Emil Nikolaisen / Hans-Peter Lindstrom Runddans Track Listing:

1. B for Birth
2. Liquid Joy from the Womb of Infinity
3. Oppad, Over Skyene
4. Solus
5. Put Your Arms Around Me
6. Altar of Kauaian Six String (Todd’s Solo)
7. Out of My Head (Lone Vibes)
8. Rundt Rundt Rundt
9. Wave of Heavy Red (Disko-Nektar)
10. T.H.E. Golden Triangle (Dry Mouthed Gargoyles in a Fountain of Fluorescent Shepard Tones)
11. Ravende Gal (Full Circle)
12. Ohr..Um..Am..Amen (Aftermath)

We Also Recommend