Cart 0
Tweedy - Sukierae on 180g 2LP + CD - direct audio

Tweedy - Sukierae on 180g Vinyl 2LP + CD

ANTI Records

  • $ 2498

Tweedy Sukierae on 180g Vinyl 2LP + CD

Solo Debut from Wilco Frontman Jeff Tweedy with 18-Year Old Son Spencer on Drums

Tweedy, the band, is a collaboration between Jeff Tweedy, best known as the founder of the pioneering Chicago rock band Wilco, and his 18-year-old son and drummer Spencer Tweedy. In September 2014 dBpm Records in conjunction with ANTI will release Sukierae (sue-key-ray), the debut release by the aptly-monikered duo. Sukierae features 20 new songs penned by Jeff, performed by Tweedy father and son along with a host of musical guests.

“When I set out to make this record, I imagined it being a solo thing, but not in the sense of one guy strumming an acoustic guitar and singing,” Jeff said. “Solo to me meant that I would do everything – write the songs, play all the instruments and sing. But Spencer’s been with me from the very beginning demo sessions, playing drums and helping the songs take shape. In that sense, the record is kind of like a solo album performed by a duo.”

With Spencer on drums, Jeff handles his usual guitars and vocals, as well as bass and keyboards. Backing vocals on Sukierae come courtesy of Jess Wolfe and Holly Laessig of the Brooklyn-band Lucius. Musician Scott McCaughey (R.E.M., The Minus Five, The Baseball Project) lends additional keyboard support on Sukierae.

Jeff Tweedy is a Grammy Award-winning singer, songwriter and producer. Spencer Tweedy, despite his young age, is a longtime member of the Chicago band The Blisters and handled drum duties on the latest album by soul and gospel legend Mavis Staples. 2LP-set also contains CD of the full album.

Tweedy Sukierae Track Listing:


1. Please Don’t Let Me Be So Understood
2. High As Hello
3. World Away
4. Diamond Light Pt. 1
5. Wait For Love
6. Low Key
7. Pigeons
8. Slow Love
9. Nobody Dies Anymore
10. I’ll Sing It


1. Flowering
2. Desert Bell
3. Summer Noon
4. Honey Combed
5. New Moon
6. Down From Above
7. Where My Love
8. Fake Fur Coat
9. Hazel
10. I’ll Never Know

We Also Recommend