Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
U2 - Pop 180g Vinyl 2LP - direct audio

U2 - Pop 180g Vinyl 2LP

Island Records

  • $ 3498

U2 Pop 180g Vinyl 2LP

Pop, U2's ninth studio effort (which shot to No. 1 in 28 countries around the world), emerged in March 1997 more than three and a half years after its predecessor Zooropa. This, the then longest hiatus between albums, afforded the band the space to pursue outside projects in greater depth than ever before and only added to the wealth of ideas that illuminated the record.

Produced by Flood, with Howie B and Steve Osborne, the album sessions led to perhaps the widest assortment of sounds, samples, riffs and beats yet heard on a U2 album: the lead single may have been called "Discotheque," but this was no conventional dance record.

It was, instead, the next audacious leap by a band determined to remain at the sharp edge and to stay ahead of the pack, as evidenced by rugged, adrenaline-fueled productions like "Mofo" and the episodic "Last Night On Earth." The band was certainly assimilating more influences from club culture, but Pop was far from defined by beats per minute. It had too many dimensions for that: "Staring At The Sun," for example, has acoustic touches and almost psychedelic guitar textures; "Miami" is spacey and restrained, "The Playboy Mansion" is low-key funk, and "If You Wear That Velvet Dress" deliberately introverted.

Remastered and pressed on 180g double vinyl with accompanying download. The artwork has been faithfully reproduced from the original release, including a gatefold sleeve, printed inner sleeves and a lyrics insert.

U2 Pop Track Listing:

1. Discothèque
2. Do You Feel Loved
3. Mofo
4. If God Will Send His Angels
5. Staring At The Sun
6. Last Night On Earth
7. Gone
8. Miami
9. The Playboy Mansion
10. If You Wear That Velvet Dress
11. Please
12. Wake Up Dead Man

We Also Recommend