Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Ultravox - Vienna 180g LP - direct audio

Ultravox - Vienna 180g LP

Rhino Records

  • $ 2199

Ultravox Vienna on 180g LP

2008 Remastered Version

Emerging from the new wave and electro scenes of the late 70’s, Ultravox fashioned a form of electronic rock music that was uniquely powerful and delivered massive hits through the 1980’s such as "Hymn," "Dancing With Tears In My Eyes," "The Voice," "Reap The Wild Wind," "Love’s Great Adventure," "We Came To Dance" and of course the timeless and atmospheric "Vienna."

The latter was found on the band's fourth album of the same name, Ultravox's first with Midge Ure (Rich Kids) as lead singer, guitarist and frontman. Helmed by famed German producer Conny Plank and originally issued on Chrysalis Records in 1980, the varied 9-track affair stands as the group's most successful effort to date.

"You only have to look back to the ‘80s and Ultravox were an oddity even then” remembers Ure. “When everyone else was doing poppy stuff on synthesizers, we did ‘Vienna’. We didn’t fit into any music camp, we straddled them. At times we were an out-and-out rock band if you came to see us live, but we were making that noise with synthesizers as well as guitars. I mean ‘Vienna’ still sounds unique thirty years on and if you make things that sound unique it becomes timeless.”

Ultravox Vienna Track Listing:

1. Astradyne
2. New Europeans
3. Private Lives
4. Passing Strangers
5. Sleepwalk
6. Mr. X
7. Western Promise
8. Vienna
9. All Stood Still

We Also Recommend