We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Ulver - Kveldssanger 180g Vinyl LP - direct audio

Ulver - Kveldssanger 180g Vinyl LP

Century Media Records

  • $ 2598

Ulver Kveldssanger 180g Vinyl LP

1996's Kveldssanger ("Twilight Songs") is the second album in Ulver's early 'trilogy' The Trilogie – Three Journeyes Through the Norwegian Netherworlde. The first three albums form a trilogy exploring the sinister aspects of Norwegian folklore. The beastliness begins with Bergtatt (1995), is balanced with the all acoustic, neo-folk album Kveldssanger (1996), before returning with even more impact on Nattens Madrigal (1997), where the pure anger and anguish is a consequence of the quintessential lycanthropic lyrics.

Kveldssanger is a surprisingly calm, almost entirely acoustical voyage through the darker part of Norwegian rural fiction, featuring folk music played on classical guitars and vocal choirs that draw their inspiration from 15th century dissonant polyphony. One feels like being in distant northern forests during cold autumn nights, where only the shimmering of the bonfire keeps evil at a relative distance. Despite its darkness and melancholy, the album's innocent and positively naïve character created a school of its own among guitarists and singers. Its simplicity makes it perfectly suitable for performance at concerts and events.

Ulver Kveldssanger Track Listing:

1. I: Østenfor Sol og vestenfor Maane [East of the Sunne and West of the Moone]
2. II: Ord [Wordes]
3. III: Høifjeldsbillde [The Mountainetops]
4. IV: Nattleite [Nighte Time]
5. V: Kveldssang [Twilight Song]
6. VI: Naturmystikk [Naturall Mystick]
7. VII: A Capella (Sielens Sang) [A Cappella (Song of the Soule)]
8. VIII: Hiertets Vee [The Heart's Woe]
9. IX: Klædt i Nattens farver [Cladde in Colours of the Nighte]
10. X: Halling [Halling]
11. XI: Utreise [Exodus]
12. XII: Søfn-ør paa Alfers Lund [Drowsieness on Fairie Mound]
13. XIII: Ulvsblakk [Wolfsgray]
14. XIV: Synen

We Also Recommend