Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Ulver - Riverhead Original Motion Picture Soundtrack 180g Vinyl LP (Out Of Stock) - direct audio

Ulver - Riverhead Original Motion Picture Soundtrack 180g Vinyl LP (Out Of Stock)

House Of Mythology

  • $ 2198

Ulver Riverhead Original Motion Picture Soundtrack 180g Vinyl LP

It’s been a while at this point, but director Justin Oakey‘s work has been covered here a few times over the years. He’s done videos for the likes of Hexvessel, Canadian experimentalists Godstopper and indeed Norwegian post-everything specialists Ulver — the “Magic Hollow” video (posted here) from the band’s 2012 obscure covers outing, Childhood’s End — who’ve composed the soundtrack to Oakey‘s new film, Riverhead.

In all that I’ve seen of it, Oakey‘s work has always kept a focus on nature and the always-underlying threats thereof, and the quiet, spacious tension Ulver can evoke when they so choose would seem to be a solid fit for that. Frankly, if you need to be sold on the idea of Ulver doing soundtrack work — or, you know, anything — you’re probably not that familiar with what they do. And that’s cool too. Just make sure you approach with an open mind. All the way open.

“There was a mutual understanding that the soundtrack should be hushed, airy and ominous, almost elemental in its minimalism, with only a few key moments that rupture into larger, more augmented pieces. As far as the method, Ulver started by recording and sending over some sketches and atmospheres before we shot a single scene of the film. This allowed me to go into the filming with an understanding of the soundtrack, and how the scenes could (and would) be paced – truly an invaluable asset, especially with a fragmented film like this.

Afterwards, they continued to record and we fine-tuned said sketches as well as some new pieces together. Ultimately, I am as proud of this collaboration as a standalone project as I am with the film itself.” – Justin Oakey, L’Anse aux Meadows

Ulver Riverhead Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Track Listing:

1. Riverhead
2. Alleyways
3. Road to Town
4. In a Wooden Coat
5. Idle Hands Are the Devil's Playthings
6. Father's Feud
7. In Memoriam
8. Stoke the Fire
9. Bored of Canada
10. Hard Standing
11. Stalking
12. A Waste of Your Father's Life
13. Spiteful Things
14. The Hunt
15. Snake in the Grass

We Also Recommend