Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Van Morrison - Common One Vinyl LP - direct audio

Van Morrison - Common One Vinyl LP

Rhino Records

  • $ 2198

Van Morrison Common One Vinyl LP

A half century's worth of recordings, endlessly innovative and unique in the annals of rock and pop music, Van Morrison's discography incorporates elements of blues, jazz, folk, gospel, skiffle, pop, soul and R&B to create a sound and sensibility immediately identifiable as Van the Man's. One of the most fascinating and uncompromising artists of the rock and roll era, Van Morrison brought Northern Irish soul to the world as one of the most transcendent singers, writers and performers to ever grace a stage or recording studio.

Inspired at an early age by Muddy Waters, Ray Charles, Lead Belly and Solomon Burke, the Belfast-born Morrison was just 18 when he joined the R&B combo Them in 1964. Known for spontaneous, energetic performances, Them represented the Northern Irish element of the 1960s British Invasion, breaking into the pantheon with the indelible "Gloria," presaging punk with an anthem subsequently covered by The Doors and Patti Smith amongst others. Van began his solo career with the Top 10 pop smash and radio perennial "Brown Eyed Girl," but soon moved in compelling new directions. He boldly crossed numerous musical genres in the decades that followed, investigating country music, jazz, New Orleans R&B, traditional Celtic folk and straight-ahead rock 'n' roll.

Van kicked off the '80s with the meditative and jazz-inflected Common One which finds the revered singer's distinctive vocals buoyed by an exploratory horn section featuring saxophonist Pee Wee Ellis (James Brown) and trumpeter Mark Isham. The reflective 6-track set includes two tracks that clock in at over 15-minutes ("Summertime in England," "When Heart Is Open") and none under the 5-minute mark. One of Morrison's most idiosyncratic collections, Common One is as soulful as it is soul searching and when it comes down to it ultimately satisfying.

Van Morrison Common One Track Listing:

1. Haunts of Ancient Peace
2. Summertime In England
3. Satisfied
4. Wild Honey
5. Spirit
6. When Heart Is Open

We Also Recommend