We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Weezer - Death To False Metal on Numbered Limited Edition 180g Vinyl LP - direct audio

Weezer - Death To False Metal on Numbered Limited Edition 180g Vinyl LP

SRC Records

  • $ 2998

Weezer Death To False Metal on Numbered Limited Edition 180g Vinyl LP

Mastered for Vinyl & Lacquers Created by Kevin Gray

Originally issued in 2010, Death To False Metal is not a traditional collection of studio leftovers or songs from the vault, but a wholly original follow-up to Weezer's just then released Hurley. The album was created using the basic tracks of 10 previously unreleased recordings - nine never-before-heard songs plus one cover - to assemble a brand new and truly modern-sounding record. The result is an evolution for the band, a giant step forward with a nod to the past.

"These were great songs, great recordings, but for some reason they didn't make the final cut for previous records," Weezer frontman Rivers Cuomo stated. "Some just weren't right for the albums we were recording at the time - just a bit ahead of their time or too 'rock.' Now, the time is right to introduce them. Together, they are the album that should logically follow Hurley."

Featuring tracks the band originally began recording from the late '90s to late '00s, Death To False Metal was a labor of love for Cuomo and his co-producer Shawn Everett, as well as the entire band. Each track was individually evaluated by the production team of Cuomo and Everett to figure out how to make each of the songs reach their full potential, and ultimately fit harmoniously on the album. After that process, they then brought in each band member in to complete the parts needed. Some of the ten songs received a major overhaul, while others got the equivalent of a sonic tune-up.

"Turning Up The Radio" is the result of Cuomo's 2008 collaborative YouTube project, Let's Write A Sawng, for which he invited fans to submit ideas. As they went through the steps of composing a tune, eventually, 15 people became involved. This track is one of only two songs not solely penned by Weezer for Death To False Metal.

"Blowin' My Stack," "Losing My Mind" (which features some of the most raw and personal emotions in a Weezer song), "I'm A Robot," and a rock cover of the massive R&B hit "Un-Break My Heart" were all first recorded prior to the release of 2005's Make Believe. "I Don't Want Your Loving" was originally laid down as a demo for 2002's Maladroit. The abrasive punk-metal "Everyone" hails from post-1998 Pinkerton period, as does the pop song "Trampoline." The piano-based "Odd Couple" and new-wave-style "Auto-Pilot" were laid down prior to 2008's Weezer (aka The Red Album).

The title Death To False Metal comes from a phrase that Cuomo and his younger brother used when they were kids. Musical integrity was a matter of life or death then, and this album is a reminder of how important music is for both Weezer and their many fans. At a time when many of their contemporaries seem to have forgotten how to rock, Weezer truly stays the course here. Cuomo and fellow axe-slinger Brian Bell crafted nine epic guitar solos - one for nearly every song on Death To False Metal - and with the band's signature hooks in full effect, Weezer's school of rock remains in full bloom.


• Mastered for vinyl and lacquers created by Kevin Gray
• Pressed on hand numbered limited edition 180g black vinyl at RTI
• Gatefold jacket with a matte finish & 11 x 22 insert

Weezer Death To False Metal Track Listing:

1. Turning Up The Radio
2. I Don’t Want Your Loving
3. Blowin’ My Stack
4. Losing My Mind
5. Everyone
6. I’m A Robot
7. Trampoline
8. Odd Couple
9. Auto-Pilot
10. Un-Break My Heart
11. Mykel & Carli

We Also Recommend