We use encrypted SSL security to ensure your credit card information is 100% protected.

Cart 0
Weldon Irvine - The Sisters Vinyl LP - direct audio

Weldon Irvine - The Sisters Vinyl LP

Nature Sounds Records

  • $ 2098

Weldon Irvine The Sisters Vinyl LP

Keyboardist and composer Weldon Irvine is among the most celebrated jazz-funk artists of all time. He was Nina Simone's bandleader for years, and wrote the lyrics for her iconic civil rights anthem "To Be Young, Gifted and Black". Throughout the 1970s, Irvine released a series of seminal albums full of deep, soulful, funky grooves.

The Sisters is a collection of lost tracks and demos from his late-1970s studio sessions with fellow jazz-funk luminary Don Blackman. Featuring the hit single "Morning Sunrise" (later famously sampled on Jay-Z's "Dear Summer"), the album contains a mix of instrumental and vocal tracks that stand up with the best work in Irvine's impressive catalog. Courtesy of Nature Sounds, this rare collection is finally back in stock on vinyl.

Weldon Irvine The Sisters Track Listing:

1. The Sisters
2. Nursery Rhyme Song
3. Think I’ll Stay A While
4. Misty Dawn
5. Morning Sunrise
6. Shopping
7. It’s Funky
8. Sexy Eyes
9. Egypt
10. Heard It All Before
11. Blue In Green

We Also Recommend