Cart 0
Wilco - A.M. 180g Vinyl LP + Complete CD

Wilco - A.M. 180g Vinyl LP + Complete CD

Nonesuch Records

  • $ 1898

Wilco A.M. 180g Vinyl LP + Complete CD

Wilco's Debut Kickstarted Mainstream Alt-Country Explosion

Established from the ashes of alt-country legends Uncle Tupelo by singer/guitarist Jeff Tweedy, Wilco initially followed its roots instincts. With fellow cohorts John Stirratt and Ken Coomer also aboard, the band's A.M. builds on Uncle Tupelo’s brand of up swinging country-rock and good-natured songwriting. Fans that had previously fallen in love with Tweedy and company’s Americana tint found plenty to love here. So did many others.

Intriguingly, A.M. was subject to an abnormal amount of attention and debate months before its March 1995 release. Since it was being recorded while ex-Uncle Tupelo member Jay Farrar was making his debut with Son Volt, everyone wondered what band would get its album out first and how they would fare. Reflecting the internal drive that has allowed him to become one of contemporary music’s most influential artists, Tweedy’s new project beat that of his former mate by several months. History has also proven the record's lasting power.

Mixed with radioplay in mind, A.M. is stacked with modest yet playful arrangements, straightforward hooks, and fun-loving humor--as well as a bit of drunken debauchery. Yes, those are actual beer bottles clanking together in simultaneous unison on the contagious “Casino Queen.” Not to be outdone, the bar-favorite “Passenger Side” stumbles and staggers as Tweedy laments what it’s like to lose a driver’s license to a DUI arrest. Spirited and soulful, this is where Wilco launched its now-trademark sound. A.M. remains both a great starting point for newcomers as well as a pleasant place to revisit for listeners that might have missed it the first time around.

Now, hear this stunning debut in the highest-possible fidelity! Mastered from the original tapes and pressed at Germany’s legendary Pallas facilities, this 180-gram LP version of A.M. is guaranteed to beat every other version around. But don’t wait! Wilco’s early Reprise LPs have been fetching hundreds of dollars on EBay for years.

Wilco A.M. Track Listing:

1. I Must Be High
2. Casino Queen
3. Box Full Of Letters
4. Shouldn't Be Ashamed
5. Pick Up The Change
6. I Thought I Held You
7. That's Not The Issue
8. It's Just That Simple
9. Should've Been In Love
10. Passenger Side
11. Dash 7
12. Blue Eyed Soul
13. Too Far Apart

We Also Recommend