Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Wilco - The Whole Love 180g Vinyl 2LP + CD - direct audio

Wilco - The Whole Love 180g Vinyl 2LP + CD

DBPM Records

  • $ 2798

Wilco The Whole Love 180g Vinyl 2LP + CD 

Band's Debut Release on Its Newly Launched dBpm Records

2011 Effort Finest Hour Since 2004's A Ghost Is Born and Best Example Yet of Maximizing Lineup in Studio

For Wilco, the release of The Whole Love represents more than just the eighth studio album from this innovative Chicago rock band. It signifies yet another new chapter in the band’s constantly evolving, enduring and storied career. Just as their departure from Warner Bros. for the release of Yankee Hotel Foxtrot created a thrilling story, now The Whole Love, on their newly launched dBpm Records, sets one of contemporary music's most creative and independent-minded bands on a wide open road.

Recorded in their northside Chicago loft, the 12 new songs on The Whole Love capture the balance between the band’s art sensibilities, their fondness for traditional American music and their love of classic guitar-driven pop rock. The Whole Love is a veritable sonic stew, showcasing Wilco’s far-reaching musical prowess (multiple guitars, keyboards, synthesizers and percussion plus Mellotron, strings, loops and more) perfectly accompany Jeff Tweedy’s provocative and insightful lyrics. The album was produced by the band and engineered by Tom Schick (Ryan Adams, Rufus Wainwright).

"Yet, as a sheer sound experience, “The Whole Love” is rewarding, a tapestry of tiny details that invites close listening. On most of the songs, Tweedy indulges in lyrics that blur the line between nonsense and poetry, revelation and obfuscation. The words, it turns out, are really mostly about sound rather than sense. So it’s no surprise that he speaks through the band most clearly. As the album’s producer with keyboardist Patrick Sansone and engineer Tom Schick, Tweedy uses the band’s Northwest Side recording studio as another instrument to complement, enhance and distort the musicianship."

--Greg Kot, Chicago Tribune, September 21, 2011

"There’s a studio-driven sheen that makes this, from start to finish, the freshest Wilco work since A Ghost is Born. Much credit must be given to multi-instrumentalist Pat Sansone, who Tweedy enlisted for a greater production role. …Wilco, nearly 20 years into its career, still has plenty left to investigate."

--Todd Martens, TONE Audio, September 21, 2011 and Issue 40

Wilco The Whole Love Track Listing:

1. Art Of Almost
2. I Might
3. Sunloathe
4. Dawned On Me
5. Black Moon
6. Born Alone
7. Open Mind
8. Capitol City
9. Standing O
10. Rising Red Lung
11. Whole Love
12. One Sunday Morning (Song For Jane Smiley's Boyfriend)

We Also Recommend