Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
William Tyler - Impossible Truth on Vinyl 2LP + Download - direct audio

William Tyler - Impossible Truth on Vinyl 2LP + Download

Merge Records

  • $ 2198

William Tyler Impossible Truth on Vinyl 2LP + Download

Impossible Truth was born on tour as William Tyler was reading two books with an odd kinship while on long and lonely Midwestern drives: Barney Hoskyns’ Hotel California and Mike Davis’ The Ecology of Fear. Both center on the promise and psychosis of southern California, albeit from very different angles: Hoskyns tackles the naïve and narcissistic Laurel Canyon scene of the early-70s, while renowned social scientist Davis deals with the history of the destruction of Los Angeles, both in real and imagined disasters.

The synchronistic tackling of these tomes inspired Tyler to compose a story rooted in apocalyptic expectation and bittersweet nostalgia. Or as Tyler puts it, this is “my ’70s singer-songwriter record; it just doesn’t have any words.” Needless to say, Impossible Truth will surely challenge your ideas of what an instrumental guitar record can and should be.

His friend and tour mate M.C. Taylor from Hiss Golden Messenger adds, “William will worry a phrase -some tangled chordal wormhole - until you are certain it’s all that exists. He’ll take you over the stiles, he’ll love you up and down, and then he’ll make you cry for the world and what we’ve done to it. Willy T’s got the vampire blues. And there’s only one like him.”

Recorded and mixed with Mark Nevers at Beech House in Nashville, TN. Features guest appearances by Chris Scruggs, Luke Schneider, Roy Agee, and Lambchop compatriot Scott Martin. Double vinyl pressing with download from Merge Records.

William Tyler Impossible Truth Track Listing:

1. Country of Illusion
2. The Geography of Nowhere
3. Cadillac Desert
4. We Can’t Go Home Again
5. A Portrait of Sarah
6. Hotel Catatonia
7. The Last Residents of Westfall
8. The World Set Free

We Also Recommend