Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Winterpills -  Love Songs on Vinyl LP - direct audio

Winterpills - Love Songs on Vinyl LP

Signature Sound Records

  • $ 1698

Winterpills Love Songs on Vinyl LP

Winterpills gives us its seventh album, a provocative entry in its catalog, entitled Love Songs. Recorded and co-produced by Justin Pizzoferrato (Dinosaur Jr., The Pixies, Lou Barlow, Speedy Ortiz), the album marks ten years as a band and showcases an invigorated and raw Winterpills. Love Songs is tightly thematic but the songs are definitely not your standard missives of affection. Within the 11-track set, Winterpills explores love of the idea of love, love of unrealized love, love of the dead, love of family secrets, love of the concept of eternal return, love of ideas, and love of celebrity.

The album's emotional resonance and fresh energy comes from the environment it was created in. Singer/songwriter Philip Price produced and engineered three albums in a row for Winterpills in their home project studio; but Love Songs was recorded in a professional studio buzzing with music gear curiosities, setting the stage for intrepid sonic exploration, including a slightly out-of-tune vintage Vose & Sons upright piano used liberally on many of the album's tracks.

The Northampton, MA quintet are consummate masters of the slow burn; they’ve nurtured a singular aesthetic with lush and sometimes gritty instrumentation, emotive and literate lyrics, sublime vocal harmonies, and cinematically structured songs that stealthily pull you in and then destroy you. Winterpills has prompted favorable comparisons to Elliott Smith, Low, The Go-Betweens, Fairport Convention, Pernice Brothers and Big Star, among others. The five-piece group is singer/songwriter/guitarist Price, singer/keyboardist Flora Reed, guitarist Dennis Crommett, bassist Max Germer, and drummer Dave Hower.

Winterpills Love Songs Track Listing:

1. Incunabula
2. Wanderer White
3. Celia Johnson
4. Freeze Your Light
5. A New England Deluge
6. The Swimmers and The Drowned
7. He Grew A Wall
8. Chapel
9. Bringing Down the Body Count
10. Diary, Reconstructed
11. It Will All Come Back To You

We Also Recommend