Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Withered Hand - New Gods Vinyl LP + Download (Out Of Stock) Pre-order - direct audio

Withered Hand - New Gods Vinyl LP + Download (Out Of Stock) Pre-order

Slumberland Records

  • $ 1998

Withered Hand New Gods Vinyl LP + Download

Slumberland Records is proud to announce the new album by the Edinburgh based folk-rock troubadour Dan Willson, who records as Withered Hand. New Gods is his stunning second album, following his critically acclaimed debut Good News. Active in the world of visual art and dabbling in music for many years, Withered Hand's Willson came late to singing and songwriting at age 30, in a period of reflection between the death of a close friend and the birth of his first child. The resultant material, much of which went on to become the album Good News, has been praised for its depth and startling honesty.

Withered Hand has been embraced by Fife-based musical powerhouse the Fence Collective (whose sovereign King Creosote guests on the new album), seen his songs picked up on MTV and cult series Skins, and gained a legion of fans including Jarvis Cocker and Rolling Stone (who named Willson an "Artist to Watch"). A prolific live performer, recent Withered Hand shows have included collaborations with Pam Berry of seminal 90's US noise-pop band Black Tambourine and a rotating cast of musical friends embellishing Dan's exuberant and original songwriting alongside fragile and uplifting solo performances.

The long-awaited second album (produced by Tony Doogan - Mountain Goats/Belle & Sebastian - and partly-funded by arts council body Creative Scotland) features guest appearances from the likes of Pam Berry, Eugene Kelly of The Vaselines and members of Belle & Sebastian and Frightened Rabbit. The five years since Good News was recorded has seen Willson honing his song-craft, building his audience and gaining critical momentum. New Gods is a beautifully executed collection of songs from one of Scotland's most gifted songwriters.

Vinyl LP is a deluxe package, pressed on 140 gram vinyl at Record Industry in Holland, with a premium jacket featuring metallic inks and spot gloss.

Withered Hand New Gods Track Listing:

1. Horseshoe
2. Black Tambourine
3. Love Over Desire
4. King of Hollywood
5. California
6. Fall Apart
7. Between True Love And Ruin
8. Life of Doubt
9. New Gods
10. Heart Heart
11. Not Alone

We Also Recommend