Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Yasmine Hamdan - Al Jamilat Vinyl LP - direct audio

Yasmine Hamdan - Al Jamilat Vinyl LP

Ipecac Records

  • $ 2598

Yasmine Hamdan Al Jamilat Vinyl LP

With her debut solo album Ya Nass (2013), Yasmine Hamdan introduced her personal, modern take on Arabic pop. With follow-up Al Jamilat (‘The Beautiful Ones'), she pursues her musical exploration, while taking a look at the mutations at work within the Arab world. While Yasmine's vocals are definitely connected to traditions of Arabic music (to which she takes an unconventional and fresh approach), the structures and arrangements of the songs are very remote from its codes, and take in elements from contemporary Western electronic, pop and folk music.

Her unique vision is fully realized in this new album, which she jointly produced with UK producers Luke Smith (Foals, Depeche Mode, Lily Allen) and Leo Abrahams (Brian Eno, Carl Barât), and recorded with contributions from NY musicians Shahzad Ismaily (Laurie Anderson, Lou Reed, John Zorn, Marc Ribot) and Sonic Youth's Steve Shelley.

Yasmine is a wanderer, she's lived in half a dozen countries and has been immersed in as many cultures. The making of this album couldn't therefore be anything else but a voyage, during which she collected and merged sounds and ideas, interacting along the way with a variety of people, nurturing her reflections and enriching the sociopolitical awareness which always runs through her lyrics.

Yasmine Hamdan Al Jamilat Track Listing:

1. Douss
2. La Ba'den
3. Assi
4. Choubi
5. Iza
6. Cafe
7. K2
8. Al Jamilat
9. Balad
10. La Chay
11. Ta3ala

We Also Recommend