Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Yo La Tengo - Extra Painful Vinyl 2LP + 7" + Download - direct audio

Yo La Tengo - Extra Painful Vinyl 2LP + 7" + Download

Matador Records

  • $ 2998

Yo La Tengo Extra Painful Vinyl 2LP + 7" + Download

1994 marked a number of huge world events; OJ Simpson emerged from football retirement to claim the headlines in a most unfortunate manner. John Starks missed somewhere in the range of 300 shots en route to the Houston Rockets defeating the New York Knicks in Game 7 of the NBA Finals. CIA officer Aldrich Ames was charged with spying for the Russians, and figure skating’s Tonya Harding put her own special spin on the phrase “lead pipe cinch.”

Still, all of the above incidents are mostly forgotten in history, completely overshadowed by the prior year’s release of Yo La Tengo‘s first album for the Matador label, Painful, a record Spin’s Rob Sheffield called, “the album that keeps every promise Yo La Tengo ever made, full of ravishing, wraithlink melodies around scruffy guitars that clang around your head like sneakers in the dryer...when a bunch of weird sounds add up to a masterpiece as casually majestic as Painful, well, ‘genius’ isn’t even the word, is it?”

In December 2014 just in time for the band's 30th anniversary, Matador will be reissuing this important highlight in the Yo La Tengo catalog on deluxe double LP, dubbed Extra Painful. The 2LP-set includes a bonus 7” plus a download coupon with 15 extra tracks, ephemera, photos, original band-aid sticker, the first YLT Gazette in 14 years and liner notes by Matador’s Gerard Cosloy and the band.

"Anyone who ever said they liked our older records more than ‘Painful’, I just told them they’re wrong.” - Ira Kaplan

“The first truly great collection of work from a group that would become one of the definitive bands of its genre.” - Stereogum


• LP1: the original Painful album (not remastered)
• LP2: Extra Painful – the bonus tracks
• 7″: “Shaker” / “For Shame Of Doing Wrong” – exact reproduction of the original single
• Download coupon: all the album tracks + 15 additional extra bonus tracks
• Packaging: Double LP + 7″ (in picture sleeve) with ephemera, photos, reproduction of original ‘band-aid’ sticker, the first ‘YLT Gazette’ in 14 years, liner notes by the band and semi-trusted advisers

Yo La Tengo Extra Painful Track Listing:

LP1 - Painful

1. Big Day Coming
2. From A Motel 6
3. Double Dare
4. Superstar-Watcher
5. Nowhere Near
6. Sudden Organ
7. A Worrying Thing
8. I Was A Fool Beside You For Too Long
9. The Whole Of The Law
10. Big Day Coming
11. I Heard You Looking

LP2 - Extra Painful

1. Nowhere Near (demo)
2. From A Motel 6 (live acoustic)
3. Tunnel Vision (unreleased instrumental demo)
4. Sudden Organ (demo)
5. Smart Window (unreleased Painful session)
6. Big Day Coming (live acoustic)
7. Slow Learner (unreleased demo)
8. Double Dare (demo)
9. A Worrying Thing (demo)
10. I Heard You Looking (live)

Shaker 7″

1. Shaker
2. For Shame Of Doing Wrong (8-Track Version)

We Also Recommend