Longer than normal shipping times we are following CDC Protocol.

Cart 0
Young The Giant - Home Of The Strange Vinyl LP + Download (Out Of Stock) Pre-order - direct audio

Young The Giant - Home Of The Strange Vinyl LP + Download (Out Of Stock) Pre-order

Fueled By Ramen Records

  • $ 2398

Young The Giant Home Of The Strange Vinyl LP + Download

Los Angeles quintet Young the Giant continue to brave new sonic landscapes with their wildly adventurous third album Home of the Strange. On this new release, the band explores their expansive musicianship with boldly eclectic arrangements anchored by a keen melodic presence. To direct the band's continued evolution, they collaborated with producer Alex Salibian (Elle King, Mikky Ekko) and executive producer Jeff Bhaskar, 2016 Grammy winner for Producer of the Year.

Thematically, Home of the Strange builds from the opening track "Amerika," a song inspired by Franz Kafka's posthumously published and unfinished novel of the same name. The members of Young the Giant are all the sons of immigrants, with a majority of the band being first generation Americans. They can relate to Kafka's story of Karl, a 16-year-old who flees Germany under uncertain circumstances. He becomes a stowaway on a ship headed to NY and the book tells the tale of a bizarre coming of age story of a boy caught between the cultures of two worlds, struggling to belong.

"We find ourselves searching for our own ethics in between the often-contradictory beliefs of this polarized American Modern Age and those of the romanticized cultures of our forefathers," the band explains. "Our perspective is irreversibly tinged with this rhetoric of the immigrant conscience and guilt. 'Amerika' explores the contradictions of our psyche and America at large.

Searching for the American Dream is to lust for excess, power, sex. There is wonderment. There is disappointment. On this rollercoaster ride, we realize that when we achieve our goals, they often leave us more hollow than before. Behind it all, we just want to feel at home, to belong, and to be loved."

Home of the Strange is the follow up to 2014's Mind Over Matter, which was both a commercial and critical success. In addition to scoring a Top 10 debut on the Soundscan / Billboard 200 chart and Top 5 Alternative Radio hit with "It's About Time," the album received a raft of praise from Rolling Stone and The New York Times who not only raved about how "...the group gobbles up bits of several segments of rock history - prog-rock, boogie metal, Southern rock, soft rock, new wave, dance-rock, and more - and claims ownership of them" but also declared frontman Sameer Gadhia as "one of the great contemporary rock voices."

Young The Giant Home Of The Strange Track Listing:

1. Amerika
2. Something to Believe In
3. Elsewhere
4. Mr. Know-It-All
5. Jungle Youth
6. Titus Was Born
7. Repeat
8. Silvertongue
9. Art Exhibit
10. Nothing's Over
11. Home of the Strange

We Also Recommend