top of page
Adrian Quesada - Boleros Psicodelicos Colored Vinyl LP

Adrian Quesada Boleros Psicodelicos Colored Vinyl LP


Solo Album From Black Pumas Guitarist On Red Vinyl LP!


It all began with the psychedelic weirdness of Los Pasteles Verdes.

About 20 years ago, guitarist, producer and Black Pumas co-founder Adrian Quesada was driving in his home base of Austin, Texas when the 1975 balada classic "Esclavo y Amo" by Peruvian band Los Pasteles Verdes played on a local AM station. Quesada was mesmerized by the song's dark, baroque melodrama.


"I swear to God, I had to pull over because I had never heard anything like it," he recalls with a laugh. "I was like, what the hell is this? Sounds like a romantic breakup on LSD. 


What Quesada had discovered was the sophisticated - and slightly delirious - cultural movement of balada music that blossomed throughout Latin America between the late '60s and early '70s.


A refined collision of bossa nova smoothness, Beatlesque psychedelia and torrid boleropathos, balada used art-pop instrumentation (mostly strings and harpsichords) and the warmth of analogue recording to maximum effect. It employed songs about heartbreak and longing as a means to transport the listener to an opulent, cinematic fantasy world.


The album features vocals from Puerto Rican icon, GRAMMY-winner and former Calle 13 member iLe, Colombian-American visionary Gabriel Garzón-Montano and Mexican R&B star Girl Ultra, as well as Angelica Garcia and Gaby Moreno, with contributions from living legends such as Marc Ribot and Beastie Boys musician Money Mark.


He has collaborated with the likes of Prince, Los Lobos and Wu-Tang Clan's GZA, and has been a member of such eclectic bands as Grupo Fantasma, Brownout and Ocote Soul Sounds. Black Pumas, the duo he formed in 2018 with singer/songwriter Eric Burton, has been nominated for 5 GRAMMYs.


Adrian Quesada Boleros Psicodelicos Track Listing:


1. Mentiras Con Cariño (feat. iLe)
2. El Paraguas (feat. Gabriel Garzón-Montano)
3. Ídolo (feat. Angelica Garcia)
4. Hielo Seco (feat. Marc Ribot and Money Mark)
5. El Payaso (feat. Girl Ultra)
6. Tus Tormentas (feat. Mireya Ramos)
7. Puedes Decir De Mi (feat. Gaby Moreno)
8. Eso No Lo He Dicho Yo (feat. College of Knowledge)
9. Esclavo Y Amo (feat. Natalia Clavier)
10. Ya No Me Quieres (feat. Jaron Marshall)
11. El León (feat. Rudy De Anda)
12. El Muchacho De Los Ojos Tristes (feat. Tita)

Adrian Quesada - Boleros Psicodelicos Colored Vinyl LP

SKU: 880882464219
Out of Stock
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page