top of page
David Bowie - Toy 3CD Box Set

David Bowie Toy 3CD Box Set


Special Edition 3CD Box Set Presenting the Long Awaited Official Release of Legendary 2000-Recorded Toy with 2 Discs of Alternative Mixes and Bowie-Designed Artwork Plus 16-Page Full Color Book!


David Bowie's legendary Toy receives its long awaited official release in early-2022 here across three compact discs. This Toy box set is a special edition of the album.


The ‘capture the moment' approach of the recording sessions are extended to the sleeve artwork designed by Bowie featuring a photo of him as a baby with a contemporary face. The package also contains a 16-page full-color book featuring previously unseen photographs by Frank Ockenfels 3.


Toy was recorded following David's triumphant Glastonbury 2000 performance. Bowie entered the studio with his band, Mark Plati, Sterling Campbell, Gail Ann Dorsey, Earl Slick, Mike Garson, Holly Palmer and Emm Gryner, to record new interpretations of songs he'd first recorded from 1964-1971.


David planned to record the album ‘old school' with the band playing live, choose the best takes and then release it as soon as humanly possible in a remarkably prescient manner. Unfortunately, in 2001 the concept of the ‘surprise drop' album release and the technology to support it were still quite a few years off, making it impossible to release Toy, as the album was now named, out to fans as instantly as David wanted.


In the interim, David did what he did best; he moved on to something new, which began with a handful of new songs from the same sessions and ultimately became the album Heathen, released in 2002 and now acknowledged as one of his finest moments.


David Bowie Toy 3CD Track Listing:


CD1 - Toy


1. I Dig Everything
2. You've Got A Habit Of Leaving
3. The London Boys
4. Karma Man
5. Conversation Piece
6. Shadow Man
7. Let Me Sleep Beside You
8. Hole In The Ground
9. Baby Loves That Way
10. Can't Help Thinking About Me
11. Silly Boy Blue
12. Toy (Your Turn To Drive)


CD2 - Toy: Alternatives & Extras


1. Liza Jane
2. You've Got A Habit of Leaving (alternative mix)
3. Baby Loves That Way (alternative mix)
4. Can't Help Thinking About Me (alternative mix)
5. I Dig Everything(alternative mix)
6. The London Boys (alternative version)
7. Silly Boy Blue (Tibet version)
8. Let Me Sleep Beside You (alternative mix)
9. In The Heat Of The Morning
10. Conversation Piece (alternative mix)
11. Hole In The Ground (alternative mix)
12. Shadow Man (alternative mix)
13. Toy (Your Turn To Drive) (alternative mix)


CD3 - Toy: Unplugged & Somewhat Slightly Electric


1. In The Heat Of The Morning (Unplugged & somewhat slightly electric mix)
2. I Dig Everything (Unplugged & somewhat slightly electric mix)
3. You've Got A Habit of Leaving (Unplugged & somewhat slightly electric mix)
4. The London Boys (Unplugged & somewhat slightly electric mix) (
5. Karma Man (Unplugged & somewhat slightly electric mix)
6. Conversation Piece (Unplugged & somewhat slightly electric mix)
7. Shadow Man (Unplugged & somewhat slightly electric mix)
8. Let Me Sleep Beside You (Unplugged & somewhat slightly electric mix)
9. Hole In The Ground (Unplugged & somewhat slightly electric mix)
10. Baby Loves That Way (Unplugged & somewhat slightly electric mix)
11. Can't Help Thinking About Me (Unplugged & somewhat slightly electric mix)
12. Silly Boy Blue (Unplugged & somewhat slightly electric mix)
13. Toy (Your Turn To Drive) (Unplugged & somewhat slightly electric mix)

David Bowie - Toy 3CD Box Set

SKU: 0190296773372
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page