top of page
David Ruffin - David Vinyl 2LP

David Ruffin David Vinyl 2LP


Deluxe Vinyl 2LP-Set featuring Original Rare David LP Plus Second LP with Bonus Tracks and Mono Single Mixes; Cut and Pressed at Third Man Detroit
Motown Records: The Supremes, Stevie Wonder, The Miracles, Marvin Gaye, Martha Reeves and The Vandelas and, of course, The Temptations. It is antithetical to mention any of those without the others.


The community of artists started as the Sound of Young America, but as history has proven, it became the sound, the look and the inspiration of so much more. And now, little nuggets of Motown's influence can be found the world over.


David Ruffin, founding member of Motown superstars The Temptations, went on to become a successful solo artist even after he left the group. In 1969, Ruffin released two fantastic solo records, My Whole World Ended and Feelin' Good. Between 1970 and 1971 he recorded what was to be his third long playing solo record.


However, his career was suddenly put on hold when Motown, for reasons unclear, shelved the album that had been dubbed David. The record had even been assigned a catalog number and final artwork. Ruffin returned in 1973 with a brand new LP titled David Ruffin (treated officially as his third LP) and the previously recorded album David sat on the shelves, unheard for decades.


This deluxe 2LP-set features the original, rare David LP, plus an LP of bonus tracks and mono single mixes all packaged in a beautiful gatefold jacket, featuring extensive liner notes and striking color photographs of Ruffin. His red and yellow suede suit featured in the interior gatefold LP jacket is an absolute must-see!


The record was cut and pressed at Third Man's Detroit HQ, just a couple miles away from the original Motown HQ. For the first time ever on vinyl, Third Man is proud to present the essential, true third LP from the Temptations' mighty David Ruffin.


David Ruffin David Track Listing:


LP1 - Original Album


1. Each Day Is A Lifetime 
2. I Want You Back
3. Out In The Country
4. You Can Come Right Back To Me
5. I Can't Be Hurt Anymore
6. Rainy Night In Georgia
7. I've Got A Need For You
8. Anything That You Ask For
9. Let Somebody Love Me
10. For The Shelter Of Your Love
11. Dinah
12. Don't Stop Lovin' Me


LP2 - Bonus Tracks


1. It's Gonna Take A Whole Lot Of Doin'
2. I Want Her To Say It Again
3. Your Heartaches I Can Surely Heal
4. Get Away Heartbreak (Keep On Moving)
5. You Make Me Do Things I Don't Want To Do
6. Mountain Of Memories
7. Heaven Help Us All
8. Each Day Is A Lifetime
9. Don't Stop Lovin' Me (Mono Single Mix)
10. You Can Come Right Back To Me (Mono Single Mix)
11. Dinah (Mono Single Mix)

David Ruffin - David Vinyl 2LP

SKU: 0810074420181
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page