top of page
Death Cab for Cutie - The Photo Album: Deluxe Edition 180g Vinyl 2LP

Death Cab for Cutie The Photo Album: Deluxe Edition 180g Vinyl 2LP


Beautifully remastered by João Carvalho, cut for vinyl by Joe Nino-Hernes at Sterling Sound, and pressed at RTI!


Double 180g clear vinyl, limited to 4,000 copies worldwide!


Disc 2 includes The Stablity EP — only issued on vinyl once before, as part of the long out-of-print 2013 Death Cab for Cutie: The Barsuk Years box set released by Artist in Residence


Gatefold jacket contains 12-page booklet plus for the first time enlarged to full LP size — all the iconic Sarah Sternau photos from the CD artwork, plus a 35-track digital download (also fully remastered by João)


Download includes The Photo Album, The Stability EP, plus digital-only B-sides and compilation tracks, band demos, acoustic radio sessions, alternate lyrics, and studio outtakes available for the first time as part of the Deluxe Edition


Death Cab for Cutie turn difficult personal issues into literary rock songs while straddling the narrow line between blissful pop and driving indie rock. The Northwest act's songs soar high like Built to Spill's or Beulah's, and almost every track on The Photo Album is as musically bouncy and upbeat as the best of those bands.


As catchy as the songs on The Photo Album may be, though, it's really front man Benjamin Gibbard's comfort with laying his emotional issues bare that makes this an excellent album. "Styrofoam Plates" is the most stunning track, with words that leave chills long after they've disappeared.


As Gibbard sings about anger for a dead father ("It's not quite a stretch to say you were not quite a father / But a donor of seeds to a poor single mother / That would raise us alone / We never saw the money / It went down your throat down the hole in your belly"), his stark honesty makes this dysfunctional family story the most compelling piece of this album.


The other issues of clumsy relationships pale a little in comparison, but The Photo Album still leaves little doubt that Death Cab deserve all the indie rock accolades they have receiv


Death Cab for Cutie The Photo Album: Deluxe Edition Track Listing:


1. Steadier Footing
2. A Movie Script Ending
3. We Laugh Indoors
4. Information Travels Faster
5. Why You'd Want To Live Here
6. Gridlock Caravans
7. Blacking Out The Friction
8. I Was A Kaleidoscope
9. Styrofoam Plates
10. Coney Island
11. Debate Exposes Doubt
12. 20th Century Towers
13. All Is Full Of Love
14. Stability

Death Cab for Cutie - The Photo Album: Deluxe Edition 180g Vinyl 2LP

SKU: 0655173902318
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page