top of page
Devo - New Traditionalists Colored Vinyl LP

Devo New Traditionalists Colored Vinyl LP


The 1981 album from Devo features the singles "Through Being Cool" and "Beautiful World." This reissue is pressed on 140g grey vinyl.


One of new wave's most innovative and (for a time) successful bands, Devo was also perhaps one of its most misunderstood. Formed in 1972 by Kent State art students Jerry Casale and Mark Mothersbaugh, Devo took its name from their concept of "de-evolution" -- the idea that instead of evolving, mankind has actually regressed, as evidenced by the dysfunction and herd mentality of American society.


Their music echoed this view of society as rigid, repressive, and mechanical, with appropriate touches -- jerky, robotic rhythms; an obsession with technology and electronics (the group was among the first non-prog rock bands to make the synthesizer a core element); often atonal melodies and chord progressions -- all of which were filtered through the perspectives of geeky misfits.


Devo New Traditionalists Track Listing:


1. Through Being Cool
2. Jerkin' Back 'n' Forth
3. Pity You
4. Soft Things
5. Going Under
6. Race of Doom
7. Love Without Anger
8. The Super Thing
9. Beautiful World
10. Enough Said

Devo - New Traditionalists Colored Vinyl LP

SKU: 0603497853380
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page