top of page
Dr. Dre - The Chronic Vinyl 2LP

Dr. Dre The Chronic Vinyl 2LP  


Groundbreaking 1992 Hip-Hop Set Gets the Party Started on Vinyl! 

With its stylish, sonically detailed production, Dr. Dre's 1992 solo debut The Chronic transformed the entire sound of West Coast rap. Here, Dre established his patented G-funk sound: fat, blunted Parliament-Funkadelic beats, soulful backing vocals, and live instruments in the rolling basslines and whiny synths.


What's impressive is that Dre crafts tighter singles than his inspiration George Clinton — he's just as effortlessly funky, and he has a better feel for a hook, a knack that improbably landed gangsta rap on the pop charts. But none of The Chronic's legions of imitators were as rich in personality, and that's due in large part to Dre's monumental discovery, Snoop Doggy Dogg.

Snoop livens up every track he touches, sometimes just by joining in the chorus.


There was nothing in rap quite like Snoop's singsong, lazy drawl (as it's invariably described), and since Dre's true forte is the producer's chair, Snoop is the signature voice. He sounds utterly unaffected by anything, no matter how extreme, which sets the tone for the album's misogyny, homophobia, and violence. The Rodney King riots are unequivocally celebrated, but the war wasn't just on the streets; Dre enlists his numerous guests in feuds with rivals and ex-bandmates.


Yet The Chronic is first and foremost a party album, rooted not only in 70s funk and soul, but also that era's blue party comedy, particularly Dolemite. Its comic song intros and skits became prerequisites for rap albums seeking to duplicate its cinematic flow; plus, Snoop and Dre's terrific chemistry ensures that even their foulest insults are cleverly turned. That framework makes The Chronic both unreal and all too real, a cartoon and a snapshot. No matter how controversial, it remains one of the greatest and most influential hip-hop albums of all time.


Dr. Dre The Chronic Track Listing:


1. The Chronic (Intro) 
2. Fuck Wit Dre Day (And Everybody's Celebratin') 
3. Let Me Ride 
4. The Day the Niggaz Took Over 
5. Nuthin' But a "G" Thang 
6. Deeez Nuuuts 
7. Lil' Ghetto Boy 
8. A Nigga Witta Gun 
9. Rat-Tat-Tat-Tat 
10. The $20 Sack Pyramid 
11. Lyrical Gangbang 
12. High Powered 
13. The Doctor's Office 
14. Stranded on Death Row 
15. The Roach (The Chronic Outro) 
16. Bitches Ain't Shit 4:47

Dr. Dre - The Chronic Vinyl 2LP

SKU: 0728706300018
Out of Stock
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page