top of page
Dusty Springfield - Dusty In Memphis Hybrid SACD

Dusty Springfield Dusty In Memphis Hybrid SACD


"As with Tommy — both albums date from 1969, by the way — this is a title re-released so often that it would be embarassing if it didn't deserve it. I have at least seven versions, and to my ears, this SACD is arguably the best-sounding after this label's LP edition.


All you have to do is listen to the space around the instruments on 'Son Of A Preacher Man,' the way the brass builds, the massed vocals and Dusty's inimitable voice, to hear its worth. As if it weren't a 'sexy'-sounding song to begin with, here it borders on the salacious. Dusty's way with 'The Windmills Of Your Mind' delivers more chills-down-the-spine than before." Sound Quality 90% — Ken Kessler, Hi-Fi News, May 2014


"Chad, my man, the new Steppenwolf, Lynyrd Skynyrd and Dusty Springfield SACDs are damned brilliant! What fantastic transfers! Best that I've ever heard these albums sound, amigo." - David Robinson, Editor-in-Chief, 


Originally released in 1969, the concept for Dusty In Memphis was to take England's reigning female soul queen to the home of the music which had inspired her. Produced by Atlantic's Jerry Wexler and Arif Mardin and engineered by Tom Dowd, the record's highlights include "Son Of A Preacher Man," "So Much Love," "Breakfast In Bed," "Just One Smile," "I Don't Want To Hear It Anymore" and "Just A Little Lovin'".


Springfield is backed by a crack band that had previously worked with Aretha Franklin, Wilson Pickett, King Curtis and Elvis Presley among others. The musicians - collectively known as the Memphis Cats - include guitarist Reggie Young, bassist Tommy Cogbill, drummer Gene Chrismann, pianist Bobby Wood and Bobby Emmons on organ and electric piano.


Songwriting contributions came from, among others, Randy Newman, Carole King, Gerry Goffin, Barry Mann and Cynthia Weil. Dusty Springfield is one of the finest white soul singers of her era, and this is the undisputed proof.


Dusty Springfield Dusty In Memphis Track Listing:


1. Just A Little Lovin’
2. So Much Love
3. Son Of A Preacher Man
4. I Don’t Want To Hear It Anymore
5. Don’t Forget About Me
6. Breakfast In Bed
7. Just One Smile
8. The Windmills Of Your Mind
9. In The Land Of Make Believe
10. No Easy Way Down
11. I Can’t Make It Alone
12. Willie And Laura Mae Jones*
13. That Old Sweet Roll (Hi-De-Ho)*
14. What Do You Do When Love Dies*
* = Bonus Tracks

Dusty Springfield - Dusty In Memphis Hybrid SACD

SKU: 753088821462
Out of Stock
    logo red.png
    logo black.png

    direct audio

    bottom of page